brotherpeacemaker

It's about our community and our spirituality!

Blaming God For Dropping The Ball

I don’t have time to look at professional football these days.  I don’t bother myself to know any of the players anymore and I can’t be bothered to follow the games like I used to.  Time is precious these days and I just don’t have the luxury.  For me, it has become more than enough to catch the highlights on the news.  It’s like fast forwarding through the commercials and getting straight to the point.  Last night I saw a spectacular catch of a touchdown pass by somebody in a blue uniform with a white helmet.  I’m thinking it was the Colts.  I only have a few minutes so I don’t want to waste time looking up who it actually was on the internet.  And did you see the middle of the field skirmish between some guy on the Titans and some guy on the Texans yesterday?  Somebody threw an uppercut that would’ve knocked the other guy out if it had connected!

One thing I heard this morning was the Buffalo Bills player who dropped a touchdown pass that could’ve won the game against the Pittsburgh Steelers for his team.  The pass was perfect and the receiver was in the exact right place at the exact right time.  The ball landed right in his hands.  And then the ball went right through his hands.  Instead, of celebrating with one of those rather juvenile touchdown dances that look like something off of a Sponge Bob cartoon, Steve Johnson ended up on his ass in the end zone after he stumbled trying to keep the ball in his grip.  He looked as if he couldn’t believe what had just happened.

However, dude dropping the ball isn’t really worth my valuable attention this morning.  What I found most notable was the way he responded to the drop.  According to the news story I read and heard this morning, Mr. Johnson blames god for his failure.  Again, I apologize because I don’t want to waste time trying to get his exact rant against the Supreme football fan.  But supposedly he clearly expressed his frustration at god disappointing him so greatly by making a tweet saying so.  If god cared about Steve Johnson and the Buffalo Bills, god would have made sure he caught that ball.  Dude just assumes that god was a Bills fan or that god wasn’t a Steelers fan or that god even cares about football.

For the sake of argument, let’s say that god takes an active role in our lives and is pulling the strings of fate with his remote control from his gold laced marble lazy boy as he sits back and watches all the games on his blissfully divine high definition, heaven only edition flat screen television.  God pushed the “drop the ball” button on his remote and Mr. Johnson had no choice but to submit to the fate of god’s remote.  If god has that kind of pull in our lives and exercises it so nonchalantly is it really a smart idea to write a tweet to someone who might be so petty to use his ultimate cosmic power to blow somebody’s game?

I mean what if god decided that it wasn’t enough that Steve dropped the ball and decided that he wanted the football player to suffer a coronary or something.  Maybe instead of hitting the “drop the ball” button god would push that button on his remote that would make somebody from the other team throw one of those bone jarring hits to Steve’s spine and knocks him flat on the field in order to get him to throw the game.  And after that spine bending hit is thrown, Steve’s spine is actually thrown and the next thing he knows he’s having considerable trouble getting his frustrated self up off the turf and needs to be carried off on a stretcher with serious health implications.  I wonder what he would’ve tweeted after something like that.

Mr. Johnson’s tweet started by saying that he praised god twenty-four-seven, meaning consistently without stopping and without conditions.  Back when I was a Christian, I learned that if I was going to have a relationship with god, it was a relationship that would have to withstand the thick as well as the thin, fat times as well as the lean times.  Sure, there were times when I’d have to deal with disappointment.  There were times I didn’t understand how my suffering through something horrible would have made me a better Christian.  And if I was still a Christian, I seriously doubt that if I dropped a football in a game that my relationship with god would be strained enough to the point where I have to tweet something to his heavenly cell phone.

Mr. Johnson also wrote that he didn’t know what kind of lesson he could learn from his failures yesterday.  Hopefully, Mr. Johnson woke up this morning with a better perspective of what’s important to him.  He dropped the ball a few times yesterday.  But if he was to look at things from a much wider perspective he’ll realize that he’ll have another opportunity to make catches next weekend.  If things go well, he might learn that in the grand scheme of things, dropping the football really isn’t all that.  If he truly believed that god is worth his praise, he’d know that he’s worthy of just as much praise today as he had given him yesterday.  If Mr. Johnson wants to learn an even bigger lesson, I’d say that he needs to learn that god could give a rat’s ass if he gets praise from someone who’s ready to blame god for a dropped ball and losing something as unimportant as a professional football game.

Monday, November 29, 2010 - Posted by | Life, Thoughts

1 Comment »

  1. Good post. I had this same conversation with someone not too long ago.

    Comment by Ogungbemi | Monday, December 20, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

