brotherpeacemaker

It's about our community and our spirituality!

Black Pot Bob

“I live in the city of Niagara Falls, where the population is mostly Italian, Irish, Polish, and African […] I was on my porch this evening, when I saw two young black women with strollers walking on the sidewalk with two young children walking with them. One of the women began yelling at her daughter (a two year old who was walking with them) saying “get the fu$% up here” and almost pulled her socket out of her arm. I said to her (as she was on my property at that point–where my driveway meets the road) please don’t use that language in front of me and those young kids.

What do you think the response was? Like an animal, she began to yell all sorts of lovely profanity towards me, including cracker, and told me to put my hood back on. I asked her to leave my property, and her and the friend continued to throw remarks my way, including “better watch your house tonight”.

Is this normal? Not for the average working white family. There is a fundamental problem among the black population–it’s called entitlement. About 20 minutes later, I had someone, a black man, come up to me and try to sell me baby clothes that he clearly stole from Wal-Mart (still on the bag with Wal-Mart tags on them).

Do I need to go any further? I’m sure I’ll get replies stating that I’m racist. When does that whole dumb game ever end? Everytime that word is used, the person who used it tends to lose credibility within seconds, as everything said after that point is not taken seriously by the reader.

I believe that blacks are the most racist people in this country”Bob

If Bob is not a straight up racist I don’t know who is. He gets into an argument with an ignorant black person, a black woman who obviously never learned parenting skills and doesn’t know the first thing about how to interact with children and uses it as proof of the racism of blacks. I’ve seen this type of behavior myself in my own neighborhood.

I have seen first hand how some black people talk to a young black child with anger and rancor because the child cannot keep up with his or her legs one third the length of the adult’s. I’ve seen first hand how some black women yank on a child’s arm to give them that extra incentive to move their tiny legs even faster or to pay attention to where the two are going. Somebody needs to explain to these people that children are naturally curious and might look around and become distracted by the tiniest thing. Instead of doing things to extinguish the child’s curiosity, we should be trying to do more to nurture it.

I’ve seen black people go off on other black people for suggesting a more tactful way of interacting with a child. Nobody should have much difficulty imagining the rant Bob described. But instead of the word “cracker” substitute the word “nigger” and you’d have the same conversation between two black people. Is the black woman still racist? I think her behavior is an example of ignorance, rudeness, hostility, abusiveness, stupidity, and a lot of other things, but racism wouldn’t be part of that list.

The black woman attacked Bob verbally. She threatened him. Chances are pretty good that she would have done the same if Bob was black. This form of ignorance being displayed here isn’t limited to a certain skin color. Although it might be racist to the casual observer or someone itching at the bit to make black people look like the harbingers of prejudice, this is in fact not even close to being some form of racism. The woman wasn’t able to deny Bob anything but a pleasant time to relax in front of his house. She didn’t deny him a proper education. She didn’t deny him a job. And although she made an empty threat to do so, she didn’t deny Bob a place to live.

Bob’s comment goes on to say that a black man tries to sell him what appears to be stolen merchandise from Wal-Mart. Bob assumes that the man stole the clothes.  I have no clue whether it’s true or not, but for the sake of argument we will go along with his assumption.  While this might be indicative of unethical behavior, how exactly does this equate to racism? How did the black man deny Bob any of his civil rights?  How is this black man’s behavior some form of prejudice?

But now let’s look at Bob’s words and thinking. Bob runs across a black woman who might be suffering from anger management issues and a black man who might have questionable ethics. He takes these two people and uses them as the yardstick for the entire black community. He doesn’t say that these two black people are messed up. He says that black people are messed up with our racism. He uses his experience with just two black people as a judgment against all black people.

Bob says that white people wouldn’t be able to get away with the type of behavior black people exhibit. I guess we are to assume that white people are never ignorant and malicious to their own children or to anybody else. White people never get annoyed with other people who might try to say something about ignorant behavior. White people never cheat or steal from others. According to Bob, this behavior is only endemic of people from the black community.

Bob is the epitome of racial negative prejudice against black people fueled by a white man’s hypocrisy. In reality, black people exhibit behavior that runs the gamut just like white people. Some black people are very ignorant. Some black people are thieves. It doesn’t mean that all black people are ignorant and thieves. There are very law abiding black people and black people who are of the highest integrity. But people like Bob would call black people who don’t quite fit into the “all blacks are scum” view of the black community a rare exception. Therefore, they feel that they are justified in their hatred for all black people.

White people use racial epithets. In fact, Mel Gibson made headline news recently, again, for one of his off the wall, racist and misogynistic rants against his girlfriend, admitting on tape that he beats her. And in the Bahamas, that young white guy called the barefoot bandit was caught shortly after he crashed landed a plane he stole. And then, after he abandoned his stolen plane, dude went on another crime spree breaking into people’s homes and businesses. But black people are the definition of unruly and our behavior is not normal for the average working white family.

People like Bob don’t realize that the behavior discussed here isn’t normal for the average working black family either. Black people are racists? Maybe that is true. I’m sure some are. But Bob hasn’t done or said anything to convince me of that fact one way or another. But is Bob a racist? Oh yeah! He is as racist as they come. He is a prime example of the pot calling the kettle black. If he was walking in front of my house where my driveway meets the road, I wouldn’t hesitate to tell him to get the hell off my property.

Wednesday, July 14, 2010 - Posted by | African Americans, Black Community, Black Culture, Black People, Life, Racism, Thoughts

13 Comments »

  1. Bob, look at the number of Black people in prison and tell us what exactly Black people are “getting away with”.
    I’ve seen some Black people who acted really badly. I’ve seen some Black people who acted in ways that were truly noble, selfless, wise and kind. Which set of behaviors should I use to make my generalizations about race? How about neither? How about none at all?

    Comment by Jon | Thursday, July 15, 2010 | Reply

  2. Many people use observation not to inform their opinions, but rather to back up the opinions that they already have. Pity.

    Comment by blueollie | Thursday, July 15, 2010 | Reply

  3. Brother Peacemaker,

    I wonder why you bother with individuals such as “Bob”. Bob is a textbook example of White privilege “the ability to demonize a whole group of people (Black people) for the actions of a few, while totally absolving himself of evil the actions of his own people”.

    MK

    Comment by Umkhonto we Sizwe | Thursday, July 15, 2010 | Reply

  4. To Bob…if we take color completely out of the picture you will find the SAME ignorant behavior when it comes to raising children in all of our cultures in this country (if they have been here long enough to be infected by American culture), including white folks. Same language, same attitude, same slurs (adjusted appropriately) to ruffle whoever it is they are slinging slurs too. I would say there is a bit of equality when it comes to ignorant behavior in America.

    Comment by Isegun | Thursday, July 15, 2010 | Reply

  5. Hey Brotehr P, long time reader, longtime commenter. thanks for taking my comment. I have a question for Bob-

    You know, when I was a little kid, my mom was a giant to me, despite only being about 5’2″. She walked fast and it was all I could do to keep on my feet. Somedays I felt like the Peanuts Character Linus being pulled through the air by Snoopy dragging him by the blankie, as mom kept a death grip on my hand. She didn’t ever cuss me out, but she definitely made mention once in awhile that I need to ‘walk faster’ to keep up with her.
    Had someone chastised her for dragging me around like a rag doll, I don’t know how she’d react, but most likely she’d mutter something under her breath about that person. Was it just her being irritated with being told how to deal with her own kids, or would that make our hard working white family matriarch a racist? (I’m pretty sure my mom hates white people like herself!). I’ll log off and take my answer off the internet!

    Comment by Mike Lovell | Friday, July 16, 2010 | Reply

  6. I think that you “summmmed” it up quite completely Brotherpeacemaker. Although I still wonder why you bother to give this special kind of people audience.

    Comment by Akinwole | Monday, July 19, 2010 | Reply

  7. Thank you all for proving my original points regarding the race issue. It is now more than ever that we are a divided nation, and NOBODY is doing anything positive except for perpetuating the current system. Maybe this is a loaded audience, with most opinions being on one side. I believe it is. I have to say though that for most whites, their feelings are fairly consistent with mine, just not as vocal, if at all.

    I think that most people have racial bias in them. Why is it that we belong to clubs and orginizations that have specific requirements or members? It’s because we wish to be around those who are like us. That’s why you see ‘black’ neighborhoods and ‘white’ neighborhoods. That’s not racist on either side, it’s just human nature.

    All I have to say is, I guess our cultures are just too different for either side to even begin to understand why they do the things they do.

    Sincerely,

    ‘Black Pot’ Bob

    Comment by Bob | Monday, July 19, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks for the feedback Bob,

      I hope you are very correct. This is a loaded audience. I would like to think that most people who come to my blog would disagree with your racist views. You say that the people here prove your point. What point would that be, that black people are racists? And you feel that your view is indicative of most white people. If that is true, then it would be obvious why we as a nation will never put the specter of racism and white privilege behind us.

      The truth of the matter is that you have no clue who comes to this blog. I am proud to say that I have a mixture of people from various races who come to my blog on a regular basis. The racism that you might be feeling comes from a group of people of various races who aren’t afraid to recognize and will not condone the true color of racism that impacts all of our neighborhoods these days. Today, that color of racism comes courtesy of you. It is not white. It is not black. It is not some hybrid race or shade in between the two. It is the color of intolerance and the lack of compassion.

      So if you’re feeling racism from everyone here and this proves your point, you just proved my point. Black people aren’t the problem. White people aren’t the problem. The problem is people like you. And like you said, people who share so much in common usually want to be with each other and not with people who are different. The converse is true as well. People don’t feel welcome when they are uncomfortable with differences between them and others. That is probably why a person like yourself, a person who allows his prejudice to color their judgment of the world, would not feel welcomed here.

      Peace

      Comment by brotherpeacemaker | Monday, July 19, 2010 | Reply

  8. Sweet, did I just get accused of fomenting white-on-white racism?

    Comment by Mike Lovell | Monday, July 19, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks for the feedback Mike Lovell,

      Are you going to pretend that this is the first time?

      Peace

      Comment by brotherpeacemaker | Monday, July 19, 2010 | Reply

  9. LMAO!!! What can I say? I’m a deep hearted self-hating kind of guy! My pasty skin serves better as a lighttower than a complexion!

    Comment by Mike Lovell | Monday, July 19, 2010 | Reply

  10. Hello. This is black pot bob returning again (thanks for the cool nickname, by the way). I urge you to visit a recent post that I left on Topix that someone else started. My post starts at post #150.

    [Link deleted]

    I’m sure you’ll have many words to say about it, mostly false, as the truth is the truth. Let’s change the way the black culture operates and maybe our black neighborhoods won’t be so scary to be in.

    Comment by Bob | Friday, September 30, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks for the feedback Bob,

      But if you believe anything I say is going to be false then what’s the point of me engaging you in some pretense of dialogue? As you say, the truth is the truth. I appreciate your invitation but I prefer to decline. I deleted the link you posted because I think you’re just trolling for an argument to rant about justifying your racial bigotry. And for the record, not every black person lives in a scary neighborhood. And conversely, a lot of white people live in neighborhoods that are scary as well.

      Peace

      Comment by brotherpeacemaker | Friday, September 30, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

