brotherpeacemaker

It's about our community and our spirituality!

Fight Club

There is a scene in Halloween 2007 that gave me an education.  Ken Foree plays a tough talking over the road truck driver in the men’s room at a truck stop.  He’s taking a crap in one of the stalls in the men’s room when the juggernaut Michael Myers started knocking on his stall door.  The truck driver tells him the stall is occupied.  Michael Myers continues to knock.  The driver tells the knocker to leave.  Michael Myers simply continues to knock.  The driver threatens Michael through the door.  And Michael simply continues to knock.  Finally the driver pulls out his knife and he starts jawing about all the things he’s about to do if the knocking man didn’t get out of his face.  Ignoring the threats, Michael Myers suddenly attacks the trucker and goes after the knife.  The trucker responds by punching Michael Myers square in his face.

But Michael had the upper hand.  Instead of talking he was all action.  He eventually gets the knife and uses it to kill the trucker.  The lesson I learned was that if you’re going to attack then attack suddenly and with overwhelming force.  Don’t talk about it.  Don’t do it timidly.  Don’t wait for the other guy to escalate any altercation to the next level.  If you’re going to attack somebody you don’t know or have little idea of what the other person might be capable of, then do it with more than enough force to get the job done.  Don’t underestimate anybody.

I was reminded of this when I saw the viral video about the fight between the two old men, one a little black man and the other a big white man on a public bus arguing over a shoe shine.  The video starts with the two men jawing at each other in the back of the bus.  The white guy said he wanted the black guy to shine his shoes.  The black guy responded with anger wanting to know why someone black has to shine the white man’s shoes.  Words were exchanged.  The white guy leaves the back of the bus and sits in the front.  They continue to argue and the black guy eventually follows.  More words exchange and the black man throws a lame punch at the white man’s head.  The white guy fires back and jumps to his full height towering over the black guy.  He throws punch after punch to the black guy’s head and face.  Dude goes down fairly quickly.  But the white guy continues his attack kicking the guy in the head with his knee.  The black guy’s nose is bleeding rather profusely.  The white guy gets off the bus without the slightest scratch.

A lot of people are looking at this video and are trying to find some deeper meaning.  Is it a commentary on the social state of America?  No more so than a Michael Myers in a Halloween movie is a commentary on the state of America.  The way I see it, the video simply shows two men with little to do and little tolerance and little common sense.  How many times have any of us been placed in a situation that could have easily escalated into something just as nasty just as quickly?  Thank goodness, most of the time we weigh the cost of doing something so over the top stupid and we come to our senses.  Everyday we are bombarded with somebody else’s act of stupidity or word of intolerance.  If we always reacted reflexively to other people’s rude behavior that rubs us the wrong way all of us would be trying to go to work as if we were going down a gauntlet fighting adversaries on both sides, one right after another.

Before watching this video if somebody tells me they want me to spit shine their shoes I’d simply say, No thanks!  That two word response would’ve done a lot more to avoid a mess than taking somebody’s bait and putting myself in a situation that would lead to senseless violence.  Now, after seeing this video I might be a little less politically correct, but if I do find myself in a situation where I believe violence is imminent, I’m going to do whatever I can to put the other guy down quick and down hard.  I’m not an advocate of violence.  I would do just about anything to avoid it.  But if I believe I have to fight I will use whatever I can, do whatever I have to do, use whatever I have to use, to protect myself.

And if somebody I hit starts going down, I wouldn’t stop.   I’d be so worried that they’d get back up I’d hit them while they were on the ground.  It’s unsporting and certainly not behavior worthy of somebody who claims to be a peacemaker.  But I was given the name.  Besides, even a peacemaker might find it necessary to stoop to violence sometime.  And call it the Michael Myers lesson.  If somebody’s jawing and telling me that they are about to do something to me that sounds really bad, threatening to kick my ass, the thought that’ll be going through my mind is, Not if I kick yours first.  I have decided that I am not too proud to sucker punch somebody I think is threatening me.

And lastly, if this video has taught me anything about our social makeup it is that nobody should ever be underestimated.  Before this video I would’ve been more than happy to give some old man the benefit of a doubt and go on my merry way.  But the way that guy took the brother out?  I don’t care if dude looks like he might be able to stand in for Santa.  The next time I get on a bus and some Mitch Miller wannabe tells me he wants me to spit shine his shoes, I’m going to tag him real quick right in his freakin’ beard and keep swinging until he goes down like a fresh cut sequoia.  I’d like to avoid a fight.  I really would!  But more than anything else I’d like to keep from getting my ass kicked.

As far as I know that old man might be the latest member of Fight Club and he’s on his way to one of the weekly meetings to do some ass kicking.  And dude might not be in the mood to wait until he gets to the club and might be trying to start something a little early.  Number one rule of fight club is that you don’t talk about fight club?  Not in my book.  I don’t know about other people but my first rule is don’t wait for that big old guy to hit you.

Wednesday, February 17, 2010 - Posted by | Life, Racism, Thoughts

4 Comments »

  1. “But more than anything else I’d like to keep from getting my ass kicked.”

    Yep! That makes pretty good sound sense!

    I am like you in that I’ll do just about anything to avoid an uncomfortable situation turning into a violent one. but once I realize that violence is about to become unavoidable, I take nothing for granted, and strike until the striking is done, and then I leave the scene. No jawing afterward, because whats the point? No point in hanging out waiting for some friends of the guy, or the police to show up and haul my ass off, whether things are in self defense or not. Most people wouldnt know it on first glace, but I’m too cute and small to be going to jail!

    Comment by Mike Lovell | Thursday, February 18, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks for the feedback Mike Lovell,

      “…but I’m too cute and small to be going to jail!”

      LOL!!! I didn’t even think about the going to jail part! I must be slippin’. The thought of getting beat up by some old guy obviously is getting to me. Not only would I take a chance of him kicking my ass, I just might have to go to jail for my troubles!

      Peace

      Comment by brotherpeacemaker | Thursday, February 18, 2010 | Reply

  2. O.K Time out …how about the sis:that egg(incite)his ALCOHOLIC AZZ ON…

    Comment by RADD-CIVIL | Thursday, February 18, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks for the feedback RADD-CIVIL,

      But just because somebody encourages somebody to do something stupid doesn’t mean they have an excuse. If that guy is as old as he said he was I don’t care what she may have said. That guy should’ve told her to shut the hell up. If she wanted to see a fight on the bus she could’ve stepped her ass up and let Santa clean her clock!

      Peace

      Comment by brotherpeacemaker | Thursday, February 18, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

