brotherpeacemaker

It's about our community and our spirituality!

Obama As Hitler

Every now and then I have to visit the thirty or so websites I promote as part of my Peacemaker’s 30 list. I really should do more visiting of these blogs, but I barely have enough time as it is maintaining my own website on a daily basis and there is only so much time in a day. This year I was banned from going into the office on Christmas and New Year’s so I had a brief window of a little extra time on my hands. With the number of visitors to the old blog drastically down, no doubt due to holiday activities this time of year, I decided not to bend over backwards as much to do the daily blog thing. The misses suggested that I spend a little time catching up on some of the links on my page.

Thank god I made the effort! I really must learn to pick my links a lot more carefully. One of them, I’ll refrain from revealing any names to keep its promotion to a minimum, spent a lot of its time promoting the idea that President Barack Obama was a modern day version of Hitler. All kinds of alarms started going off in my head. I remember selecting this site as something pertinent for people to see because of it talked about how the police are getting out of hand and are harassing our communities. No community gets more harassed by the police than the black community. Police are beating black people left and right, police are sending black people to the hospital, and America’s police are fatally shooting unarmed black people who aren’t committing any crimes or who have already been subdued. And the only time police get busted is when they’re caught on camera doing the deed.  And even then half the time they get off without even a slap on the wrist. The website pointed a finger squarely at former President George Bush. With Mr. Bush’s proclivity for spreading fear among the populace, his association with a police state was pretty obvious.

But I was surprised to see the site promote the idea that Mr. Obama was trying to goose step directly into Adolph Hitler’s shoes.  There really wasn’t any explanation as to why or how Mr. Obama was the reincarnation of the German icon of evil other than the fact that as our President, Mr. Obama continued Mr. Bush’s policies. And yet, I don’t recall the site ever promoting the idea that Mr. Bush was a Hitler wannabe.  The site was without a single image of Mr. Bush donning a Hitler moustache.

Anybody who reads my blog on a regular basis knows for a fact that I am no fan of Mr. Obama. I find him a serious disappointment with his inability to help the black community. He claims that by law he cannot make a law that helps to promote the black community. Even though that statement is true, it is misleading. As President, Mr. Obama does not make any laws. The development of the law is a function of the legislature, not the executive branch. His answer was nothing more than his typical dodge of any affiliation with black people.

No one is asking Mr. Obama to pass laws to help the black community. What the black community is asking for is Mr. Obama’s support in the development of laws as well as federal government policies that can help rebuild the black community. Mr. Obama doesn’t appear to have much of a problem stepping up to the plate when the dominant community needs help. He can help bailout banks and Wall Street. When the nationwide unemployment rates hits double digits he has no problem promoting himself as working hard to reduce that unemployment figure. But the unemployment rate in the black community has been double digits for a much longer period. Why can’t Mr. Obama say that he will work to motivate the country to help reduce the unemployment rate in the black community? The unemployment rate in the black community is at least half as much higher than the overall rate and yet Mr. Obama maintains a hands off policy waiting for people in the black community to show more responsibility.

But I hardly think this qualifies as falling into Hitler’s footsteps. I can’t afford to have my blog associated with such leaps of illogic. Yes we are living in a police state. The idea that our police state is something of Mr. Obama’s design because he wants to be a Nazi is a serious stretch.

I have posted quite a few articles critical of Mr. Obama and his policies. I wrote a post criticizing how he systematically turns his back on the black community with condemnation labeling the general black community as just a bunch of irresponsible louts while he moves heaven and hell to bail out corporate America. There was the post critical of the fact that Mr. Obama proves he is no man of peace when he escalates war. There was the article about Mr. Obama’s complacency in Israel’s aggression against the Palestinian people, standing idly as the President elect while Israel unleashed its United States supplied military war machine against the defenseless people of Gaza. And try as I might, I cannot reconcile how Mr. Obama can sever all ties to his former pastor Reverend Wright for calling Mr. Obama a politician but he is quick to embrace conservatives who will boldly call him a liar as he is making a formal address to both chambers of the Congress.

And as much as I may dislike Mr. Obama, I am compelled to defend him from the nonsense people want to dump on him. The idea that Mr. Obama wants to do everything, anything to promote the Aryan people as the superior race is abhorrent. Then again, the way he focuses so intently on issues solely from the perspective of the dominant community is worth a scrutiny or two.

I may not care for Mr. Obama. But as a black man watching another black man being attacked, I do believe I can see the difference between the analytical criticism of him with some kind of evidence or reasoning to support a judgment and the unjust criticism fueled with nothing but dislike and prejudice, whether it is a racial, political, ideological, or whatever prejudice one might have.

Monday, January 4, 2010 - Posted by | African Americans, Barack Obama, Black Community, Black Culture, Black People, Life, Racism, Thoughts

6 Comments »

  1. You sir, are a mainstay on my blogroll. It’s good to see that there are black men out here who can be pragmatic in their analysis of Barack Obama and his job to date. As for me, I’m with you all the way on the way he chooses to deflect questions hurled at him in reference to the black community.

    I’ve found that people like you and I are rare in pointing that out. I don’t know about you, but I am met with many disappointing views with regards to that from supporters.

    Comment by RiPPa | Tuesday, January 5, 2010 | Reply

  2. Thanks for the feedback RiPPa,

    I truly appreciate the compliment.

    I have seen way too many people in my day to day and in my blog who have no clue as to why they dislike what they are programmed to dislike. They simply drink the kool-aid they’re given and go on rants. They might not talk about death panels but they’re ready to spread just about anything and everything else. How many times have you heard this kind of conversation? Mr. Obama wants our guns. Really? When did he say that? It’s obvious. Then you shouldn’t have any problem pointing it out. And then the conversation dies with something like, What’s that over there? Where? I don’t see anything. And when you turn back around they’re running down the hallway.

    Peace

    Comment by brotherpeacemaker | Tuesday, January 5, 2010 | Reply

  3. Well, just to qualify my dislikes, pineapple is vwery acidic and bitter, and coconut, well that’s just disgusting.

    I too, as I’m sure you’re well aware am no fan of President Obama. You and I differ on a lot of things, expecially when it comes to political policies/ideologies, but I too have a hard time reconciling the unsubstantiated and many times ignorant rants of people who are supposedly on my side of the issue. While I’m nowhere near the smartest person I know, nor educated to the ways of politics and government function, some of these people give people like me a bad name and get me lumped into the piles of idiocy.

    Comment by Mike Lovell | Tuesday, January 5, 2010 | Reply

  4. Thanks for the feedback Mike Lovell,

    We disagree?!!?

    Just kidding…But the fact of the matter is that we’re entitled to disagree. I don’t have anyone saying Mr. Obama is a jerk. I just want to know what somebody is basing that opinion on. If it’s nothing but propaganda and hate then I don’t want to have anything to do with it because I’ll think that the hate might be based on nothing but racism. And that’s something I need to keep as far away from me as possible.

    Peace

    Comment by brotherpeacemaker | Tuesday, January 5, 2010 | Reply

  5. I am a man. There are only seven colours. Avocado is a fruit and I have no idea what Chartreuse is. As for the economy, it is the sum total of all the money spent by everyone. Now, when and economy gets into trouble, it becomes necessary to make sure that the rich people can keep on spending lots of money. The poor people have much less effect on the big picture, and if they lose their homes they can double up or live in cardboard boxes. This is why Mr. Obama had no choice but give the rich people what ever money they wanted. It is only fair. It is the rich people who print the stuff and loan it to all the little businesses that rely on retail sales. How can all these little business people stay in business unless rich people have money to buy their stuff? Unfortunately, it is only putting off the inevitable. I asked Bank America for a $500 loan last night and they could not loan it to me.

    Comment by chris tidman | Tuesday, January 5, 2010 | Reply

  6. Thanks for the feedback chris tidman,

    But ummm…Look at it this way…

    If rich people spend money how can they loan money? Rich people already own their houses, own their cars, own a lot of the things poorer people would like to own. So when rich people get a dollar they put it into the bank. Now look at the spending habits of poor people. They spend just about every dollar they get just trying to live without much to save. Rich people don’t need money to buy the essentials. That’s why, if you really wanted to stimulate an economy, money would be given to all people across the board.

    Peace

    Comment by brotherpeacemaker | Tuesday, January 5, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

