brotherpeacemaker

It's about our community and our spirituality!

Three Minutes On Black Friday

At the job, we had the choice of working on the day after Thanksgiving or not. If we didn’t take the holiday we could bank that time off as vacation. Thinking that hardly anyone would make the choice to come into the office on our national day of giving thanks, it was one of the simplest decisions I’ve ever made to come into the office when everyone else was gone. Having the building virtually to myself is a holiday all in itself.

But in order to make sure I spent some time with the family, I made the choice to forego the gym and a workout and go to the office far before the crack of dawn. I got to my desk about five in the morning on Thanksgiving Day. I went about the day doing whatever it is I do when I go to work, just not as quickly. Around ten or so, I looked out the window at the front of the Best Buy next door. A couple of people had hat pitched their tents in order to be one of the first in the store the next morning. I shook my head and went back to work.

This morning was Black Friday. I again got up early, did without the workout and went straight into the office. I got to my desk about 4:45 this time. I looked out the window at the Best Buy. The couple of tents had morphed into a line that wrapped around the building. The Best Buy was opening at precisely five o’clock and the line was visibly getting longer with each tick of the clock. Cars were circling the already full parking lot. The news van was illegally parked right in front of the doors doing their broadcast. It was the classic day after Thanksgiving, Black Friday ritual with all the hype.

But what was most funny was when five o’clock hit and the doors opened, the entire line of people got into the store within three or four minutes. So the difference between the guy who got there yesterday morning and camped out all night to be one of the first and the person who arrived just before the doors opened was about three minutes. So I had to ask myself, would I ever give up about twenty hours of my life in order to gain a three minute advantage on shopping at a Best Buy? I really don’t think so.

Friday, November 27, 2009 - Posted by | Life, Thoughts

3 Comments »

  1. Yeah, I’m with ya…even if I could run like Usain Bolt to get the limited availability of some electronic device before everyone else….I’m just not that into such an idea of camping out in front of a big box store….I’ll just order online, or let the wife do the shopping when she gets around to it.

    Comment by Mike Lovell | Saturday, November 28, 2009 | Reply

  2. Thanks for the feedback Mike Lovell,

    Personally, the whole thing about shopping for Christmas is out of hand. If somebody needs something then they should get it no matter what time of year. And I like to do the same for giving people gifts. If I want to give it to you then you’ll get it no matter what time of year.

    Peace

    Comment by brotherpeacemaker | Saturday, November 28, 2009 | Reply

  3. I have never understood Black Friday shoppers, and the thought of camping overnight to gain three minutes shopping time is really funny. Before on-line shopping became the norm for me, and before my brothers and I decided we didn’t need to give gifts to each other anymore, I would always try for an early December Tuesday or Wednesday night at a department store as my main shopping expedition. But even then the lines at the cash register and the picked-over quality of the merchandise were really discouraging. It’s WORTH spending more money just to avoid all that.

    Comment by Bettina Hansel | Monday, November 30, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

