brotherpeacemaker

It's about our community and our spirituality!

It’s Hard To Leave Blogged Enough Alone

There just isn’t enough time in the day these days.  Don’t let that observation give you the impression that I’m complaining.  If given my druthers I’d rather be up to my elbows in work instead of sitting around doing nothing.  But with so much that has to be done, there isn’t really enough time to get it all done.  Something usually ends up slipping by the wayside.  And unfortunately, more often than it did before, it’s usually the blog that ends up on the back burner.

When I first started putting articles up thirty two months ago, my keyboard was smoking.  A day didn’t go by where I didn’t have at least one article to publish.  Some days even had two.  I can’t point to any day that had three but I’m sure I did it once or twice.  Maybe I had a lot of time to kill then.  But that was a totally different world back then on the other side of the country.  The family’s moved from Idaho to Missouri.  The job has changed.  Baby boy was a newborn then and now he’s a walking and talking chaos machine.  And his grandmother, my mom, has been added to the mix and needs a little help.  And to top it all off we now have a large four family building that we’re trying to restore.  Life has gotten a little busier.  And some things get kicked down the road so often that they never get done.

Yesterday I published an article I promised to Baba Orunmila over six months ago.  After watching the film The Haunting In Connecticut, Baba gave me an assignment and asked that I write a little something about the way we slander our ancestors.  I thought it would be a piece of cake.  But then something happens in the news and it took precedence.  And then on other days, I have no time or energy to give a real article the hour or so it needs to make it something worth reading so I’ll pull out one of my practice essays from way back when, dust it off, and publish it instead.  But at least I published something.  Even when I’m more than tired and a little brain dead it seems I can’t leave my blog alone, even if it is just to reply to a comment.

When the family was moving from Idaho to Missouri, we made sure we spent the night at motels with internet access so I could keep the blog current.  Even when we had a family emergency a few months back, coming back to the blog after a long day at the hospital helping to keep everybody’s spirits up was actually a welcomed return to normalcy for me.  And even when most of the comments to articles were vehemently negative, full of a triple combination of attacks, accusations and threats, I kept writing.  I just couldn’t leave the blog alone.

But today I’ve decided to take a little time away from the blog.  In the past thirty months I’ve never been gone for more than a day tops.  Today starts a one week vacation to take advantage of our Thanksgiving holidays.  I’ll spend the time more focused on my family.  I’ll let the blog do what a blog does when people go away and it’s left to its own devices.  No comments.  No quick notes.  Nothing for one week.  That may not sound like much to you but for me it sounds foreboding.  I spent a long time and a lot of effort getting the few people that come now.  I have a fear that in a week, I’ll be back down to single digits and will have to start the whole process of building a somewhat respectable readership over again.

I’m the first to admit that I’m no Oprah with the capability to change the course of politics, book sells, or anything else.  I’m just a poor slob like everyone else trying to eek out a stake on the internet.  And with the little noise I do make I like the fact that some people listen to hear what I have to say and keep coming back for a little more.  But even I have to admit, after thirty two months of knocking articles out on a consistent basis it is time to let if go, even if it is just for a little while.

Sunday, November 22, 2009 - Posted by | Life, Thoughts

7 Comments »

  1. lol! Let’s see how long this “vacation” from blogging lasts for you. A week without dropping an article? I’ll be checking in “hourly”… not daily… to see your progress. I will probably have to call the A&E show “Intervention” next week to see if they can help your addiction! lol!

    Have a well deserved holiday and a blessed Thangsgiving to you and the Peacemaker family!

    Oh yeah… Go Raiders vs. Cowboys!!!

    Comment by asabagna | Monday, November 23, 2009 | Reply

  2. Thanks for the feedback Asa!

    But I’ll show you! You might think I actually came back to my blog just to see how things were going. But I came here to find your comment totally by accident. You see, I accidentally opened the laptop and I accidentally started the web browser while I was at work. And even though it opened to Yahoo!, I accidentally clicked the WordPress link. And then I accidentally saw that I had comments and I accidentally read them. Totally by accident! It’s been almost two hours and I don’t miss my blog one bit! Hah!!

    Peace

    Comment by brotherpeacemaker | Monday, November 23, 2009 | Reply

  3. Oh, so now you think you get to be a holdout?? You’re holding your personal and well deserved vacation over the addiction, I mean accidental readings, of your blog??? this sounds an awful lot like some selfish hatemongering going on, Brother P…LOL

    So, I’ll see your comment in what? 30 minutes, maybe and hour?

    Enjoy your vacation!

    -Mookie

    Comment by Mike Lovell | Monday, November 23, 2009 | Reply

  4. Thanks for the feedback Mike Lovell,

    But you won’t see a comment from me until next week on the subject. I’m not going to say anything about your lack of faith in my ability to walk away from all of this for a week. I’ll see you in a week!

    Peace

    PS – And for the record…I could’ve responded in six minutes. But I won’t!

    Comment by brotherpeacemaker | Monday, November 23, 2009 | Reply

  5. BrotherP,

    I am not convinced that you can stay away that long. I give you a day and then you will be Jonesing for a hit or post. You are nothing if not addicted to this blog.

    But, good luck. If you do slip up and fall off the wagon, I will be here to read it.

    Comment by theblacksentinel | Monday, November 23, 2009 | Reply

    • Hey Blacksentinel!! He even took time off to comment on my blog later on in the day….

      Comment by Mike Lovell | Tuesday, November 24, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks for the feedback Mike Lovell,

      But I said I was going to take a vacation from my blog, not from the internet.

      Peace

      Comment by brotherpeacemaker | Tuesday, November 24, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

