brotherpeacemaker

It's about our community and our spirituality!

Freedom Of Speech Is Not Entitlement To Be Heard

gagged_med

I will do my best to make this as clear as possible.  Everybody is entitled to freedom of speech.  Anyone who denies anybody of their freedom to speak their minds in a public forum is restricting people’s freedom of speech.  People who work to undermine people’s freedom of speech need to be confronted and stopped whenever and wherever it happens.

Now I’ll do my best to make sure this part is clear as well.  My blog is not a public forum.  My blog is my personal space that I alone worked hard to create and maintain, initiate and nurture.  People who come to my blog are my guests.  In many respects, visitors to my blog are no different than the people who come to my home.  I usually do my best to make people feel welcome in my home.  There is no prerequisite that we have to agree on everything.  In fact, we don’t have to agree on anything.  But as long as we can agree to disagree, we will get along fine and I will be happy to be your host.

People who come to my blog aren’t automatically entitled to have their comments posted.  Any comment from my visitors that gets posted is only posted because it receives my personal approval to appear on my personal blog.  People who don’t know me from Adam would do better to keep personal attacks on me out of their comments.  What in the world would possess me to post a comment from someone I don’t know that starts of with an insult tossed my way?

Imagine if someone walked up to my front door and when I answered their knock the first thing out of their mouth was an insult followed by a demand that I step aside and allow them unlimited reign to my home.  More than likely I’d tell them to get off my freakin’ property and then slam the door on his or her face.  Now who would blame me for not wanting such a person in my house?

This is not to say that I’m trying to infringe on anyone’s freedom to speak.  They are more than welcome to find their public forum and say what they want.  They can disagree with me until they’re old, wrinkled and grey.  I don’t think I’m that important but if that’s what floats other people’s boats then float away.  That’s the entire point of freedom of speech.

But if somebody walked into my house and started shitting on my furniture and doing their best to make a nuisance of his or her self they would quickly understand the concept of freedom of my foot up their ass.  I have the freedom of speech as well.  And people coming to my space need to be aware that I plan to fully exercise my freedom as well.  And while I may not do it in a public forum, my space here is intended for people to hear what I have to say first, and then what others may want to say something about what I’ve said will come second.

A lot of people come here and say that I’m only looking for comments that stroke my ego.  Perish the thought.  If I had to guess the majority of the people who are driven to respond don’t necessarily agree with my thinking.  People are constantly calling me a racist.  People consistently insult my intelligence.  People accuse me of festering hate.  And people have accused me of trying to institute some back to Africa movement for black people.  People will say that I look for racism around every corner.  Truth be told, I don’t I have to look around anything.  Racism and racial prejudice oozes and flows all around us like sunshine on a sunny day on the sunny side of the planet Mercury.

Normally I’ll try to engage.  Like everybody I have preferences and dislikes.  But be that as it may, I don’t think I’m overly racist and wouldn’t want people to think of me as such.  Just because I see and understand the nature of the discrimination against the black community doesn’t necessarily mean I’m trying to stir up racism or making the suggestion that the black community cannot coexist with the racially generic dominant community.  If anything, I’m pointing the problem out so that we as a collective from both communities can do what we can to alleviate the disparity.  I’m not a racist.

But some people don’t want to listen or try to see things from my perspective.  People will call me a racist and that’s all that matters to them.  No dialogue is necessary.  And I might be a racist in their eyes.  That’s what they’re entitled to think and they can use their freedom of speech to say so.  But I’m certainly not going to let their freedom of speech to say I’m a racist ride on the back of my freedom of speech telling people I’m not.

Tuesday, September 22, 2009 - Posted by | Life, Racism, Thoughts

6 Comments »

  1. Brother P-

    I have held my tongue long enough, and think that we have conversed enough to understand each other. So let me say this in regards to your phrase “racially generic dominant community”:

    This cracker is brand named and stamped with the Nabisco logo!

    Now, can I come in and sit down on your couch and watch the game and eat all your chips? Or do I have to tell you that’s what’s gonna happen around here?

    Okay, now seriously,
    I’m kind of glad you blogged about this. I too am all for freedom of speech, and at the same time I’m all for freedom to ignore one’s free speech induced utterances. Which is to include, as you pointed out, coming into one’s house and having diarrhea of the mouth all over the place as though they own the place and you have to put up with it in your personal space.

    Great posting you big beautiful black man, you! (obligatory ego stroking per contract requirements set forth to get comment posted!)

    Comment by Mike Lovell | Wednesday, September 23, 2009 | Reply

  2. Awwww…

    Mike! You can stop by any time! Watch where you sit or step though, I have yet to clean the upholstery from some of my previous visitors.

    Peace

    Comment by brotherpeacemaker | Wednesday, September 23, 2009 | Reply

    • Me, I’m a pretty good houseguest…I’ll clean the mess up before I sit down. Now, be a good host and offer me some cookies!

      Comment by Mike Lovell | Thursday, September 24, 2009 | Reply

    • I should have known you were just after my cookies!!

      Peace

      Comment by brotherpeacemaker | Thursday, September 24, 2009 | Reply

  3. well said, as usual!!! and can i just tell you? that mike lovell character cracks me up!! lol

    ~peace & love~

    Comment by Rebecca | Wednesday, September 23, 2009 | Reply

  4. You know damn well where I stand on this issue as shown by my previous arguments with tons of my and your visitors. I can’t believe that people think that the freedom of speech somehow covers them being allowed to go anywhere to say anything they want.

    Is falsely yelling fire in a crowded room being illegal infringing upon people’s freedom of speech? I think not. A lot of people don’t know the difference between harassment and freedom of speech.

    I hope the right people see this!

    Thanks.

    Comment by theblacksentinel | Wednesday, September 23, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

