brotherpeacemaker

It's about our community and our spirituality!

My Name Is Peacemaker And I’m A Blogaholic

logitech-mac-keys

Hi.  My name’s Peacemaker.  And I’m a blogaholic.  It started about two and a half years ago, back in March of 2007.  I was approaching middle age, my first son was just born, other than the misses there was no one to fellowship with about the happenings in the spiritual realm, and I had a desire to reach out and start some kind of community on the internet.

I wrote a few articles ahead of time and published four of them on that first day.  I waited excitedly for the stampede of visitors to my blog.  And on that first day I got a resounding three hits, less than one visit per article.  Needless to say I was a bit disappointed.  But I planned to keep those three visitors coming back for more so I quickly fell into the habit of publishing an article nearly everyday.  My target was to have something for people to read at least ninety five percent of the time.  The strategy paid off because a week later I had almost tripled my hits to a whooping eight.

Well, that’s what was happening two years ago.  These days I get my fair share of visitors.  I could always use a few more though.  My usual subject matter, the racial disparity that continues to plagues the black community or the fact that too much of America consists of people who are too narcissistic to help more people who might be less fortunate.  Another popular subject for me is my spirituality based on the African tradition of the Yoruba people known as Ifa.  But I really don’t get the gumption to write much about Ifa these days.  I really do need to spend more time being still and listening instead of trying to save the world.

But nevertheless, I’m constantly working to write something new and fresh.  It’s a considerable amount of work for me.  Some people might be able to sit down and write something off the top of their head as easy as they may please.  But I’m no natural born writer and it takes me a serious amount of effort.  And if it wasn’t for Microsoft Word and that F7 key I’d have all kinds of typos and grammatical mistakes that the average fifth grader would know better than to make.  Regardless, I do my best and keep plugging away.  For the few minutes it takes for the average person to read my article, this ain’t even close to being War and Peace, it’ll take me at least a couple of hours of writing, and rewriting, and editing, and revising, and you get the point.

I used to bristle whenever I heard someone say that all I do is talk about disparity and I never do anything to try and stop it.  Idiots!  They never heard the expression; the pen is mightier than the sword.  And many of these same people won’t hesitate to suggest I read some other bozo that does nothing but write.  My writing is dismissible as nothing but talk while somebody else’s writing is real work.  The hypocrisy of some people is simply too blatant for description

I know a few bloggers who might write a handful of articles in a month’s time and they’ll easily get ten times the hits that I do.  I keep telling myself that it’s not about the number of visitors but the message I want to convey.  I could easily get a thousand hits if I wrote something about how Beyonce or Chris Brown or some other bullshit that has little meaning besides distracting us from all of those things that are truly important.  As a collective, we’ve been conditioned to waste good money to attend the funeral for a dead pop singer that hasn’t had a real hit in two dozen years but we won’t pay an extra dime to educate our children or to help take care of our sickly.  Talk about our mix up in priorities

I really went off on a tangent there.  I’m sorry about that.  I just get so worked up when I think of how easily we’ve been duped to buy into the things that keep us divided and keep us from becoming a unified people where we share a mentality that is best summed up as all for one and one for all.  We’re taught to admire people who are so selfless in fairy tales.  But when we see people try to implement such a philosophy in real life we ridicule such a person as a bleeding heart liberal.  Jesus H. Christ himself couldn’t survive in this capitalism run amok environment.

And I feel so strongly about our current mess that I write.  I write because I want to wake up as many people as I can from this slumber of stupor.  The only answer I have is to keep writing.  I can’t stop because the next article might be the one that clicks in somebody’s head and that person might be the one to reach the next person.  And so on and so on and so on.

At least that’s what I think.  I think that’s why I write.  I want to keep on writing.  I have to do it everyday.  I’d make it a living if I could.  But if I had to write for a living chances are pretty good that I’d starve.  In today’s environment, I doubt if I could find many people to help me out.  So I have to blog in between all the other aspects of my life like working and family.  I can’t stop right now.  I might be on the verge of a real break through.  That or I just might be a blogaholic.  Trust me, there’s  a fine line between the two.

Monday, August 3, 2009 - Posted by | Life, Thoughts

5 Comments »

  1. “We’re taught to admire people who are so selfless in fairy tales. But when we see people try to implement such a philosophy in real life we ridicule such a person as a bleeding heart liberal. Jesus H. Christ himself couldn’t survive in this capitalism run amok environment.”

    Yes we admire the selfless heroes of fairy tale lore. It is not those people who try to implement selflessness into their lives that we label the bleeding heart liberal. That title is more aptly stuck onto the chests of those we see trying to implement the policy on everyone else, taking the choice away from those people to decide to do or not to do what is deemed to be right. God gave us freewill to make our choices and live with the responsiblities and consequences of OUR decisions, not the decisions of others.

    As for Jesus H. Christ, I have two things to say. He would be the world’s only fully functional wino out on the corner, and that I fidn it odd that noone ever realized his middle initial “H” stands for Herbert. Of course noone but God himself called him that…others faced the wrath of one pissed off Savior, he hated that middle name!

    Oh, I mean MY name is Mike and I’m a Peacemaker-Blog readaholic. But if you guys dont bring back the free brownies and lemonade to these meetings, i may choose to become illiterate! LMAO

    Comment by Mike Lovell | Tuesday, August 4, 2009 | Reply

  2. “But if you guys dont bring back the free brownies and lemonade to these meetings,”

    Did I miss something?

    Comment by Chris Tidman | Tuesday, August 4, 2009 | Reply

  3. Chris-

    It sounds like a addict meeting with his title, and the beginning of my last paragraph….addict meetings from what I’ve seen of them on tv, and heard from a few others, always have snacks!

    Comment by Mike Lovell | Wednesday, August 5, 2009 | Reply

  4. Sounds like somebody might be a snackaholic.

    Peace

    Comment by brotherpeacemaker | Wednesday, August 5, 2009 | Reply

  5. Wow! We went from Jesus to brownies in less than 2 comments! You were right! People are easily distracted! Thanks for the two years of injections of sensibility into my life! Although I may not comment often be sure that I read every single article! Keep up the good work broP!

    Comment by silence dogood | Tuesday, August 11, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

