brotherpeacemaker

It's about our community and our spirituality!

Blogging Through Changes

blog

I don’t know if you could tell or not but I’ve been out of touch with my blog for the past couple of weeks or so.  With all the changes life has been bringing lately, I just couldn’t give my site the attention I like to spend on it.  For the past two years I’ve been giving my blog a huge chunk of my time.  I’ve skipped a meal or two because I was trying hard to meet a deadline.  I’ve missed dates with the misses and with my son in order to put the finishing touches on an article more than just a few times.  I’ve even done a little blogging from work which is definitely a something that you don’t do because where I work, personal blogs at work can be a job terminating offense.  But I do it anyway.

However, the Orisa Oya has been kicking my ass lately with some significant changes into my life and the life of my family.  One member of the extended Peacemaker family has been rocked with serious health issues and we’ve all been coming together to help each other out during this time of crisis.  Add to this a few major changes happening in the work environment, a new multi family house abandoned for about twenty years that’s the epitome of the term “fixer upper”, and the fact that the Peacemaker family had to move out of our one bedroom apartment and it should be a given that some things are going to give.  The blog just so happens to be one of those things.

Don’t get me wrong.  I didn’t just let it go.  Every morning I was trying to update the blog with a new article and a new update to the quick note section.  I had more than a few articles waiting in the wings for just an occasion.  However, the number of draft articles waiting for publishing has dried up completely.  If I don’t write it fresh it ain’t getting published.  So with articles dwindling and all the changes happening right now everything seemed to come to a head this week.  And there is only so much of me to go around.

A sick family member can really drain the time away like nothing else.  The people at the job on my team were understanding and took up a lot of my slack.  If anything they took up too much slack and proved exactly how replaceable I was in our department.  But there were a lot of people in other departments who find me irreplaceable and are waiting patiently for my return to a more reliable status.  I may have to put in for a departmental transfer once these personal ordeals are over.  And my family and friends have been right there with me.  At least I hope they’re there with me.  I’ll find out when I get the chance to come up for air and see how things are going on out in the real world again.

Most people may not have noticed much of anything.  I think I’ve done a good job of keeping the blog up to date on a daily basis.  But my luck ran out yesterday.  Trying to move out of the apartment at the end of the month seriously took the winds out my sails.  To top it all off I have no clue what’s been happening in the world lately other than the bits and bites from a glimpse at the news I recorded with the DVR.  I could fast forward through a lot of junk, read the news tickers at the bottom to catch up with what’s going on.  But I had to give up even that little luxury over the past couple days.  Sadly, since we had to give up the Dish Network when we moved, it doesn’t look like I’ll be getting much of a chance to really catch up on my news commentary for a while.

Some people might find this a good thing.  I know I’ve lost my share of regular subscribers by sticking to the same old script of how the dominant community is doing so much to go out of its way to neglect the black community or how American politics sucks at the teat of just about everything that contributes to racial disparity and the like.  Maybe it’s time for me to do something a little different, at least for a little while.  Maybe while me and my family are going through these fateful changes, it’s about time I make a few changes of my own.

Sunday, August 2, 2009 - Posted by | Life, Thoughts

4 Comments »

  1. You write well and have interesting insights. Why not consider a weekly or bi-weekly blog instead. It doesn’t have to be every day; even for me it’s hard to find time to READ your blog every day. Sometimes I have to catch up on 4 or 5.

    But whatever you decide, take care of your family. They come first.

    Comment by Bettina Hansel | Monday, August 3, 2009 | Reply

  2. Awwww…

    Thanks for the feedback Bettina Hansel,

    The misses tells me I need to back off as well. She suggested that I dial it back to one or two articles something like a year ago. But with the race to the white house and all the other things happening in the world it wasn’t just easier, it was necessary to write something new everyday. Right now, I think I may have to take that advice to heart.

    Peace

    Comment by brotherpeacemaker | Monday, August 3, 2009 | Reply

  3. Hey Brother P,

    Life sure does get hectic, doesn’t it? Having been married for 9+ years now, and experiencing all the ups and downs that family life can bring, let me assure you, pay attention to the family!! Like Bettina saiid, they come first.

    Don’t get me wrong, I love reading your blog in the mornings over my coffee (its on the top of my priority list, afterall!), but in the end your family and your life are a far cry more important than keeping us readers informed and entertained daily. Once or twice a week is plenty, and who knows..it might give you more time to put extra thoughts or touches on each blog entry, and you can always do mini-blog topics within the same entry?

    Anyways man, good luck with everything you have going on right now!

    -Mike

    Comment by Mike Lovell | Monday, August 3, 2009 | Reply

  4. Just wanted to say I enjoy reading your blog very much. Today, I’m catching up on about 4 or 5 of your posts so I definitely didn’t notice a change. But then again, I’ve only been subscribed a few months. I too agree with Bettina, though. A well-thought and written weekly/bi-weekly post is fine!

    I also wish you strength during this time in your life.

    Comment by Chi-Chi | Thursday, August 6, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

