brotherpeacemaker

It's about our community and our spirituality!

People Here Just Aren’t That Into You

BrokenBlackHeart

“This ones definitely for your eyes only…everytime you delete me, you lie to yourself and your followers. Question: if you have followers, does that make you a golden calf?
I still love you dude…go do your thing.”
Carlton

Carlton,

Again we have a difference of opinion. I was under the impression that every time I allowed you to post your comments I was allowing you an opportunity to mislead the people who come to my blog. I have no problem with deleting or editing distasteful comments. You’d be surprised how many times I’ve been called a coward, lazy, wanting a handout, of being a fucking nigger, or something really nasty. You probably think I’m misleading people when I don’t post those comments as well.

However, I made the decision a long time ago that I am allowed to delete lunacy and comments from people who have no sense of etiquette. People who make it a point to blatantly wear out their welcome cannot really expect their comments to be published. People who come to my blog should understand that this is not a public forum. This blog is a reflection of me and the things that I value. And one of the things I value most is other people’s opinion. A dissenting opinion is always welcome as long as we can maintain a modicum of civility.

But when people, such as you for example, accuse me of trying to manipulate people, then I really don’t think I’m under any obligation to post such defamation. I believe the work that I put into my blog entitles me to reject comments at my discretion. The way I see it, it is no different than someone coming into my house and provoking an argument or just making a nuisance of his or her self. I would have every right to ask people to leave my property. I have every right to relieve myself of people I don’t particularly care for.

You think I lie to the people here? That’s your opinion and you are more than titled to it. But like you said in one of your earlier comments, your disparagement gets us nowhere. But one place your disparaging comments will get you is edited or deleted. People who come here don’t come to hear from you. I have yet to receive a comment from anyone asking for more from that Carlton fellow. In fact, most people who come here and left comments regarding you were more likely to ask why I indulged you for so long when you’re obviously more concerned with protecting the dominant community’s interest at the expense of the black community’s interest.

You may have felt you were making strong arguments to support your less than enlightened position. But the majority of people here recognized your arguments as nothing but bold faced justification for acquiescing to the racially defined status quo of disparity. While it is a fact that there are many people who share your thinking, generally speaking those people do not frequent here. I think I know my audience. You simply are not that important here. If none of that convinces you then let me say that I no more lie to the people who come here than you lie when you make your selective cuts of the exchanges we have and make edits to prove your point to the people you try to convince to ingratiate themselves to the racially generic dominant community at the expense of the black community.

” Question: if you have followers, does that make you a golden calf?”

This is a rather simple question of comparison to support a simple argument. The implication would be that since I have an audience of regulars then I have an appeal that on a small scale mimics the overwhelming support given to Michael Jackson by his global audience. I dare say the implication is one that borders on an accusation of hypocrisy. And a simple question deserves a simple reply.

You have your own group of people who follow your word. I do believe the last time you gave a progress report you said I was scoring about thirty five percent while you were making a killing with a majority of sixty five percent (click here to refresh your memory). Would that make you their golden calf? You may have a different opinion but I really don’t think so. When you die, I seriously doubt if anyone is going to put you in a golden casket and mourn you from the far corners of the globe because of the incidental happiness you brought into their life. The people who will mourn your passing will be people who have a direct relationship with you and you have a relationship with them. Your comparison might be rather simple, but it is also rather ludicrous. Maybe I’m wrong, but I really don’t think you’re that important.

Lastly, I appreciate the love, but I’m just not that into you.

Thursday, July 9, 2009 - Posted by | African Americans, Black Community, Black People, Life, Thoughts

4 Comments »

  1. [Comment Deleted]

    Comment by Carlton | Friday, July 10, 2009 | Reply

  2. Carlton,

    When it comes to deletions I do believe I’m on a roll. But I’d like to leave you with a reply. Something between just the two of us…

    The unpublished comment is not worth reading.

    Peace

    Comment by brotherpeacemaker | Friday, July 10, 2009 | Reply

  3. [Comment Deleted]

    Comment by Carlton | Friday, July 10, 2009 | Reply

  4. Carlton,

    I want you to leave? On the contrary, you are free to make as many comments as you please here. I can always rely on you for an article or two. I have simply decided to show more discretion on what gets published. When I feel that your comments are worth publishing I will publish them. Keep them coming. I’m sure once you learn to give this blog the same appreciation you would give the guy in the cube next door then something you write might get published. Until then, you’ll understand if I make the choice to protect my interest.

    Peace

    Comment by brotherpeacemaker | Friday, July 10, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

