brotherpeacemaker

It's about our community and our spirituality!

Who Am I To Judge A Weirdo?

scary-michael-jackson

The internet has been abuzz ever since the news that Michael Jackson died hit public ears.  A guy at work told me that hours after it was announced that Mr. Jackson had died, Google went down from all the internet traffic.  Supposedly, shortly after that Wikipedia crashed from its own internet siege from the global community.  My associate said it was unfathomable that a single death would have generated such interest other than maybe the assassination of America’s first black President, heaven forbid.

I had to agree with him.  I told him that the death of Princess Diana comes closest but is probably a distant runner up.  No leader of the black community would draw such concern.  Not the death of Martin Luther King, Jr. or Malcolm X.  Not even the death of the man known as Jesus Christ would garner the world’s attention.  At the time of his death, Jesus was a criminal and most people had the attitude good riddance.  So along with his record breaking album Thriller, it might just as well be a long time before anyone topples the King of Pop for most internet traffic.

To say that the global community feels the loss of Mr. Jackson is a woeful understatement.  So many people are pouring their hearts out in tribute and respect to Michael.  Ninety nine percent of the things being said and written are filled with such positivity and love, it’s hard to remember that just last week Mr. Jackson had fallen off of most people’s conscious thoughts.  Most people didn’t give a thought about buying a Michael Jackson album or downloading a Michael Jackson song.  He went from a virtual zero to legendary hero status in the stroke of a heartbeat.

Up until last week, most people would call Michael Jackson a weirdo.  Yes the man had a history of musical greatness and as a boy displayed a talent to sing and dance far, far beyond his years.  But of late, Michael just got weird.  And now people remember him as nothing but a misunderstood saint.

Personally, I have no problem looking at Michael Jackson through the same lens of understanding today as I had last week.  I thought dude was strange last week.  I think dude was strange this week.  I have no doubt that I will remember dude as weird next week, next month, and next year.  If somehow I wound up in Michael Jackson’s will, probably penciled in over his father’s name, I would be more than happy to accept what Mike may have left me.  But I’ll accept it with the understanding that my benefactor was indeed a strange cuss.  I believe it would be somewhat hypocritical for me to change my opinion simply because the man is dead.

A handful of times I have asked others whether or not Michael Jackson was weird, a few people avoided the question with the punt, who am I to judge?  And then right after these people duck casting an opinion on that weirdo the King of Pop, they realize that they do have a pair after all and will chastise me for openly expressing my opinion.  Why do people feel that they don’t have the right to judge one person but then turnaround and will have no reservations about casting judgment on another?  What makes Michael Teflon and me Gorilla glue?

I think some people have a hard time coming to terms with criticizing what they love.  We collectively appreciate Michael Jackson so much and mourn his lost that we can’t imagine tolerating any negative thoughts we may have had about him in the past.  Some of us feel like we are ungrateful hypocrites to say anything bad about him.  So instead of stepping forward and calling weird for what it is, many of us would rather duplicate the behavior of the yes-men and other enablers who allowed Mr. Jackson to become the ever exaggerated caricature of his self.

I know if I did some of the weird crap that Michael Jackson did, I would hope people who really cared about me would step forward and say something like, quit being such a weirdo.  That way, maybe I would stop being weird and in fact, I might straighten up and fly right.  Who knows?  If someone had stepped forward and told Michael Jackson that he needed to stop being so weird we might have him around today.

Instead of looking the other way and dodging question with false words of humility like, who am I to judge, we could step to the plate and call things the way we see it.  We all have an opinion.  Most of us have no problem speaking up against the things we don’t like.  If more of us took the time to speak up more often we might be able to stop the train wrecks that are happening around us.  Your favorite celebrity is acting like a nut?  Call them a nut.  They might stop if more of us did it.  It shouldn’t be considered judging.  It should be considered a form of constructive criticism given with love and appreciation.

It’s too late for Michael Jackson.  Yes it’s true that some people may have called him out, but not nearly enough.  He died a weirdo.  Even in death some people have problems coming to terms with his weirdness.  Not me.  He was a weirdo then, he was a weirdo now.  Judge me all you want for being unfair to Mr. Jackson.  But weird is weird and I’m not afraid to say it.

Wednesday, July 1, 2009 - Posted by | Life, Michael Jackson, Thoughts

9 Comments »

  1. for you Michael Jackson was a weirdo. okay, let’s think about it, with all of his success, did you really think he would be like you? (brotherpeacemaker) i bet he is one of the most talent,genius you have ever had the pleasure of living in the world with.

    is it weird to employ billions of people, throughtout the world? is it weird to share a talent that not only fatten the wallets of many, but changed the hearts of people.

    michael jackson was more than a singer and dancer to so many people. he was a philanthropist that brought resources, to people, that gave them a longer life, and to others, the quality of life.

    brotherpeacemaker,although you have chosen to focus on michael as a “weirdo” but i do believe you have experienced and been blessed for some of his greatness, and if you choose to give more credence to what you have label “weirdo”. god bless you and may there be more Michael jackson “weirdos”

    diane
    mindofagoddess.wordpress.com

    Comment by writerworks | Wednesday, July 1, 2009 | Reply

  2. Thanks for the feedback writerworks,

    Yes Micheal Jackson was the epitome of weirdo. I really don’t think he employed billions of people throughout the world. But he was a talented entertainer. He was a weird talented entertainer. Just because he made some good music doesn’t mean that he wasn’t weird. Just because he was a genius doesn’t mean he wasn’t a weird genius. Just because he was a philanthropist doesn’t mean he wasn’t a weird one. And yes I have been blessed by some of the efforts of this weirdo.

    And while you may wish for more people to be as weird as Michael Jackson, I prefer future geniuses to have more restraint from the over-the-top weird behavior. Just because somebody is talented doesn’t mean he or she isn’t weird.

    Peace

    Comment by brotherpeacemaker | Wednesday, July 1, 2009 | Reply

  3. I’m going to have to go ahead and agree with you on this one Brother P. While I woke up almost everyday to my mom playing the Thriller album, and appreciated his music, he has since become increasingly weird. I don’t think the fact that you or I think of him as weird does anything to diminish his talents as an entertainer, or his efforts as a philanthropist. That’s all well and good, but while it may overshadow his weirdness to most people, it can’t eliminate the fact that I found the weirdness to be fully existant.

    And like you, I hope the future geniuses and philanthropists are just as generous, but a little more within the scope of normal.

    Comment by Mike Lovell | Thursday, July 2, 2009 | Reply

  4. Thanks for the feedback Mike Lovell,

    Glad to see somebody agrees with me. If somebody in my circle of friends and family and associates start talking stupid like buying the bones of the Elephant Man, trust me, I’m going to call them weird and do everything I can to slap some reality into his or her skull. Maybe if somebody did that with Michael he’d be here today…and a lot less weird.

    Peace

    Comment by brotherpeacemaker | Thursday, July 2, 2009 | Reply

  5. Please, stop picking the bones of Michael Jackson! Even in death, he’s still being cannibilized! Damn shame!

    Comment by Jazzy | Thursday, July 2, 2009 | Reply

  6. Thanks for the feedback Jazzy,

    But you have to admit that those bones belonged to one man with a history of being seriously weird. Death is not a cure for a history of weirdness. Damn shame he was so weird!

    Peace

    Comment by brotherpeacemaker | Thursday, July 2, 2009 | Reply

  7. Jazzy,

    Is death some sort of a door that closes and means you can never say anything that isn’t great about the person? Not to mention why is it that we pick and choose who we speak ill of after death?

    I bet you don’t go around and tell people to stop picking over the bones of Hitler or Saddam Hussein. For you and me they were terrible or even weird people. But to someone else they were great people.

    It doesn’t matter that he is dead. None of you people were the least bit interested in Michael Jackson a week ago. Now all of a sudden there is this frenzy of he’s so great fever.

    Everyone needs to get over it. He was nothing more than a man who was extremely skilled at singing songs. He didn’t even write the majority of his music so I am sure that it is overkill to call him a genius. He has stage presence or at least he did early on. But lately he has been a freak plain and simple.

    I guess I don’t see the big deal and what I am saying is that he is dead which doesn’t negate who he was in life, an extremely talented weirdo.

    Thanks.

    Comment by theblacksentinel | Thursday, July 2, 2009 | Reply

  8. I had really hoped that he would live long enough to reverse some of his bizarre-ness and redeem himself somehow. But it wasn’t in the cards, unfortunately. I don’t have a problem acknowledging that he was an genius in music and entertainment and that the had other serious issues. I agree, his death just doesn’t change it magically. Now that I have some babies of my own, I’m just still really struck by that whole “blanket baby” hanging off the balcony scene. As much as I think of the music and greatness, I can’t help but to think of that too. And I seriously couldn’t look at the picture you posted for more than a few seconds.

    Comment by Chi-Chi | Wednesday, July 8, 2009 | Reply

  9. I kind of agree somewhat. Even if you dismiss his bizarro behavor (like letting kids you barely know sleep alone with you in your room) theres still the matter of what the eff Michael did to his face. If the people around him really cared they should have said no and not taken all his whining and bullshit. I guess him having his say with the doctor is what killed him in the end.

    Comment by Dinah Emerald Deauxma | Saturday, December 8, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

