brotherpeacemaker

It's about our community and our spirituality!

Virginia Kerr And The KMOV-TV Early Morning News

The time was just before 5:50 Tuesday morning.  I usually bounce around the various news broadcasts while I do my early morning internet surfing ritual.  I was stopped on KMOV Channel 4 morning news watching a brief article about the criticism being made of Alaska Governor Sarah Palin.  Ms. Palin made some comment about how the comments are nothing compared to the shots our troops are taking.  Ms. Palin closed the interview with a wink of her eye to the unfortunate reporter interviewing her.  I guess the eye wink is now a staple of her new folksy mannerisms.

At the end of the video clip the camera cuts back to Virginia Kerr at the early morning anchor desk back in the news room.  I started to take my attention away from the television and go back to my computer when it happened.  I caught a fleeting glance of it out of the side of my eye and almost missed it.  I didn’t think I saw what I thought I had just seen.  I grabbed the remote and rewound the DVR to make sure.  It was confirmed.  Ms. Kerr had rolled her eyes up into her head like she was about to be ill.  A split second later she recovered quickly and went on with the news with a smile and a slight look of embarrassment on her face as if to say she had been caught with her hand in the cookie jar.  But too late, Ms. Kerr is human and suffers the same human reactions to tripe.

I know local news people are supposed to be impartial when it comes to national politics.  But I couldn’t help but be pleasantly surprised.  Ms. Kerr was only mimicking what I was feeling at the time.  I was probably making the same exact facial expression to Ms. Palin’s eye wink and fake smile intended to make me feel like she’s all down to earth and make me think she’s a regular joe six pack.

But Ms. Palin’s eye wink has as much warmth and sincerity as Arizona Senator John McCain’s plastered grimace during a North Vietnamese interrogation with two broken arms.  I’ve gotten to a point where I don’t even have to wait for Mr. McCain’s rhetoric.  Like Pavlov’s dog my eye muscles start to twitch and do their own thing when Mr. McCain’s image comes on the television.  Or, if I hear his voice or his name, my eyes will override whatever brain impulses are coming their way and do their manifestation of disgust.

And in the little more than five or six weeks that I have come to know Ms. Palin I have developed the same reaction to her image and voice.  Thanks, but no thanks.  Just writing that phrase triggers a psychosomatic reaction that sends nerve impulses up and down my spine invoking a reaction as if I just heard Freddy Kruger’s mechanical nails slowly dragging across a school room chalk board hooked up to a public address system.  I was happy to see some semblance of that type of reaction with Ms. Kerr.  All too often people who report the news have to simply give politicians free publicity to spout their messages and speeches in spite of their lack of true substance or integrity.

Much of the criticism being directed at Ms. Palin is rightfully deserved.  Ms. Palin has done very little to engage the public and deliver any clue as to what specific steps she would take to be the maverick reformer (more eye rolling) and clean up Washington and national politics.  She reads all the magazines, every single one that comes in front of her, so much so that she can’t remember the name of a single one.  She appreciates so many court cases that the Supreme Court has ruled on that she can’t name a single one in the great history of American history.  She has so much international political experience because she governs a state that borders Russia and Canada.  And she has military experience because as Governor she had the authority to call the National Guard of Alaska to duty even though she never did during her entire twenty months running the state.  The woman is a political joke that has a good chance of becoming a nightmare, although that chance appears to dwindle a little more each and every day.

For Ms. Palin to compare the criticism coming her way to the alleged criticism being directed at our American troops is another desperate move of a person who is hard to take seriously as a viable political alternative by any remotely level headed personality.  No one is criticizing American troops for following the orders of wayward, self serving, and egotistical commanders.  By any measure people recognize that the American military is doing its best with the situation it has been given.  For Ms. Palin to use them to score a handful of political points is more evidence of her utter shallowness.

I know Ms. Palin turns my stomach.  Her voice grates on my nerves so much it’s just a matter of time before I jam an ice pick down my ear canals.  Just seeing her image makes me want to gouge out my vision balls.   Any regular person would have the same reaction.  It turns out Ms. Kerr over at the KMOV News desk is human and suffers a similar reaction to the sight of Ms. Palin.  It turns out Ms. Kerr is more real and has more substance than Ms. Palin can ever hope for.

Wednesday, October 8, 2008 - Posted by | CBS News, KMOV, News, Politics, Republicans, Sarah Palin, St. Louis, Thoughts, Virginia Kerr

7 Comments »

  1. LOL!! Thats funny. Unfortunately, I was speaking with family and friends about the fact that despite the obvious and clear stupidity Palin & the Repubs exhibit on a general basis, the base supporting their politics buys in totally and completely. As an educator, I fear the fact that one day many of the listless, unambitious, and willingly ignorant will possess the same right to vote as those who critically educate and discern their political choices to lead this country.

    P.S. At your own leisure, check out “Esoteric Agenda” on video.google.com. Provocative and eye-opening!

    Comment by Rio | Wednesday, October 8, 2008 | Reply

  2. Personally, I have your same reaction when seeing the Clueless and Clown performance. Whatever it is that they are saying or winking and nodding to at the moment. It is sickening to think that people actually feel comfortable with these two nuts.

    Would everyone be alright with Condoleeza Rice speaking with our allies and adversaries winking and clicking her mouth at them like some brothel worker? I think we would be disgusted and ready to yank her black butt right out of that position.

    Yet, this ding bat starts winking and everyone thinks “gee she is just like me.” Soon she will be blowing kisses and turning around in order to look more provocatively over her shoulder while swinging her hair out of its bun.

    Is this what we need in the White House? Because if it is lets just cut to the chase and hit up Playboy millionaire Hugh Heffner for a “REAL” centerfold to represent us.

    Thanks

    Comment by theblacksentinel | Wednesday, October 8, 2008 | Reply

  3. Thanks for the feedback Rio and theblacksentinel,

    I don’t know about anyone else but personally, I would prefer that the Vice President of the United States not pickup mannerisms of etiquette techniques from watching Florence Jean Castleberry, the waitress made famous by Polly Holiday, at Mel’s Diner during reruns of Alice. All she needs to do is pop a stick of Juicy Fruit and add a couple of “sugs” to her vernacular and you’d be hard pressed to tell the two apart. “Welcome to the white house diner sug! Just sit where yo’ wantin’ and I’ll get to you when I can!” No thank you!

    Peace

    Comment by brotherpeacemaker | Wednesday, October 8, 2008 | Reply

  4. Don’t you mean “Thanks, But No Thanks.” I doubt she would actually use Welcome. Think more in terms of “Comon’ in hun’ and sit any ol’ war ya want an I’ll getya when I can. You betcha’ by golly I’ll be helpin’ to do some fixin’ in them thar United Nations thingy. I’m gonna bring them fellas a taste what I call a little Wasilla main street. Ya know they can learn a lil somethin’ from Joe Six Pack Hockey Mom. Ya just wait til I show em a lil of how we up in Wasilla field dress a moose. Shoot! they won’t know what hit em.”

    Thanks but no thanks, my head hurts now.

    Comment by theblacksentinel | Wednesday, October 8, 2008 | Reply

  5. theblacksentinel,

    “Thanks, But No Thanks.”

    I think I’m becoming ill again!

    Peace

    Comment by brotherpeacemaker | Wednesday, October 8, 2008 | Reply

  6. The story I wanted you to look into is racial discrimation..
    I worked at McDonalds in Pontoon and got terminated I worked for 10 years. I have filed at the EEOC today at your earliest convience can you contact me in this matter. Thank You in advance…….. By the way I have plenty of witness….. This is a case of wrongfully termination…..

    Comment by Stacey Cohen | Tuesday, July 6, 2010 | Reply

    • Stacey Cohen,

      Your best bet is to contact Virginia Kerr at KMOV-TV directly.

      Peace

      Comment by brotherpeacemaker | Tuesday, July 6, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

