brotherpeacemaker

It's about our community and our spirituality!

Elk Snout Mayor For Vice President!

An hour after Sarah Palin was selected as John McCain’s running mate for the presidential nomination, I asked my friend at work how she felt about it.  Since I’ve been at this current job, she’s the only person I really look forward to seeing at the office.  We have sat and discussed issues pertaining to the black community in depth.

We both hate the fact that there are so many high profile black men going after white women after they have dumped the black women who have helped them.  However, she didn’t see a problem with high profile black women going after white men.  There are so few good black men for those high profile black women anyway.  We disagreed about that issue.  Why should high profile black women be given a pass to date outside the race when black men shouldn’t is pretty hypocritical.

We’re not talking about black people who just so happen to develop a relationship with non-blacks.  So spare me the questions and comments about black people separating themselves.  What we’re referring to are the black people who feel that there is no point in dating their own.  We’re talking about black people who only date non-blacks or feel that a relationship with black people runs contrary to their interest.

We both feel that the black community needs help.  She feels that black men should step up to the plate.  She’s a single mother who hasn’t seen her child’s father in years.  Most of her friends are single black mothers as well with children and absentee fathers.  I asked her what did she see in her sperm donor.  Her eyes roll back into her head as she briefly reminisces and replies with a smile on her face that the man was fine.  I’ll ask was he responsible.  She turned kind of sheepish and said no.  So I asked her that because she made an irresponsible choice, black men are now her problem.  She responded that it’s a given that black men are absent in their children’s lives.  I’ll reply that it’s a given that some black men are absent in their children’s lives, but aren’t their white men absent from their children’s lives?  Not like black men.  Based on what?  All my black girl friends are single mothers.  All my brothers are active in their children’s lives.  But y’all had the same upbringing so that doesn’t count.  Whatever…

Anyway, an hour after it was announced I went to my friend’s desk to discuss the development.  She was literally dancing in her seat.  She was pressing the keys with the flair of a person who was either on illegal substances or are just on a natural high.  Nevertheless, I asked if she had heard the news.  Are you kidding?  I am so happy.  She’s got my vote!  It’s a woman!  She’s against abortions.  It’s on!  It’s on!  It’s on!  What about the black community and eight more years of this mess we’re in?  I don’t care!  What about continuing this war on terror?  I don’t care!  What about any other issues in this political race?  I don’t care!  I don’t care!  I don’t care!  I wanted to cry I felt so deflated.  I wished her good luck and walked away.

This woman said she cared about the black community.  She always said that the black community is front and center in her life.  But it became painfully obvious that the black community takes second place to the female community and the community of unborn babies.

I actually thought that only idiots would be persuaded by Senator John McCain’s selection of Governor Sarah Palin as his vice presidential running mate.  There has been so much talk about Senator Barack Obama’s inexperience from his Republican opponent.  So many people talk about the first time senator having the hubris to run for President.  But then the Republican who would be President picks the first time Governor from the least populated state, the former Mayor of Wasilla, Alaska with a population of less than six thousand according to the city’s last estimate, a woman who is now under investigation for trying to have her brother-in-law fired as an Alaskan state trooper as retribution for divorcing her sister in a bitter divorce and a nasty custody fight over their children, as the best choice to replace him if he is ever incapable of serving as President.  This is his best choice?  Talk about playing the female card or maybe the ovary card.

One of the most important decisions for the next person who will be President is the choice for who will lead the country if something were to happen to the President.  Senator Obama selected Senator Joe Biden.  I’m not happy about the pick.  From the perspective of someone who truly cares for the black community there are much better choices.  I think Governor Bill Richardson would have been a nice choice.  But say what I will about Mr. Biden who could lead the country if necessary.

However, Governor Palin is not someone that is ready to lead the country if Mr. McCain is ever incapacitated.  She’s probably a nice woman.  I know she is family oriented.  I know she’s willing to put her career on the line to avenge her sister against her former brother-in-law.  She is definitely family oriented.  And I can just see Ms. Palin using her experience as commander of the Alaskan National Guard to command the most powerful military force on the planet.  “That state trooper that divorced my sister?  Nuke’em!”  If she was a man we would be questioning Mr. McCain’s sanity.  But because she could do a stint as Buffy the Trooper Slayer people are actually talking about Mr. McCain’s shrewdness and boldness.  If he just wanted to prove his boldness selecting Queen Latifah would’ve been an even bolder choice.

The choice of the vice presidential candidate should say a lot about the man who would be President.  A Condoleezza Rice would have been a much stronger choice.  Kay Baily Hutchinson would have been a better choice.  I don’t care for either one but at least they have some real national political experience and isn’t just a bold choice.  But unfortunately, a lot of people don’t care about those things.  However, the approval of such a choice says a lot about who we are and what our priorities are.  I don’t know how many people are sold on this choice.  I do know at least one person who’s intensely happy about the choice and to me that’s way too many.

Sunday, August 31, 2008 - Posted by | Alaska, John McCain, Life, Politics, Republicans, Sarah Palin, Thoughts

10 Comments »

  1. Sorry Brotherpeacemaker for you loss,

    Even though woman admit that their decision making was bad, as usual, we the men have to take the blame. I loved that you posted that experience.

    I love my sisters, but they be trip’n. Soemtimes the allure of the acceptance of the dominant community which happens to be white is just too strong sometimes to our people. I can dig it but, I hate that we (blacks and the rest of america) tend to get so sidetracked with our own little issues. Instead of keeping our eye on the ball. Voting OUR issues not these “firsts” cuz you can be the worst first or second…i.e. Justice Thomas.
    I’m not with Obama just because he’s black… if he was black and talking that bullshit like say a Michael Steele. I’d vote for him cuz of the issues he stands for compared to the rest. Some of his positions I disagree with but hey he isn’t me and I can’t expect him to have the same opinions as me. Especially, coming from where he comes from. Yet, I’m sure he knows some of what we feel as Blacks in this country. Not so much as I cuz I’ve grown up not so poor but not so well off either… and I’ve had my encounters with the law some deserved some not.

    But your friend just got hoodwinked. Don’t give up on her. Just send her a couple links on this lady.
    http://www.ontheissues.org/Sarah_Palin.htm
    (sorry I don’t know how to make it a hyperlink. I’d appreciate it if you could educate me.)

    Comment by damien | Monday, September 1, 2008 | Reply

  2. Thanks for the feedback damien.

    And the sympathy. But I can’t really lose what I never had.

    I love my sisters. And some of them do trip. But I live with a beautiful black woman who’s the mother of my son and is strong in her black identity and with her love of the community. I know you were talking generically but I just want to make sure we give props to the sisters who keep their heads out of the white clouds and keep their feet planted firmly on terra firma. Unfortunately, I am beginning to feel that these types of sisters are more rare than I originally thought.

    And as far as the hyperlink thing goes…I couldn’t help anyone out. I know as the owner of this blog I have access to editors that are more sophisticated than what guest get. But it looks like you did just fine.

    Peace

    Comment by brotherpeacemaker | Monday, September 1, 2008 | Reply

  3. I would get your “friend” into a 13 step program ’cause she’s either high or touched. You have got to be kidding me
    to actually put the next 8 years of our lives into the hands of these bufoons. We’d be better off having big bird and oscar the grouch running this country, but then again not, ’cause they’re owned by a white capitalist corporation anyway, so it’ll be just like old times.

    Comment by shabazz | Monday, September 1, 2008 | Reply

  4. Thanks for the feedback shabazz,

    Ain’t no friend of mine! But I get your drift. These people would be ten times worse than anything Sesame Street could dish out. Sesame Street is inclusive. It isn’t just for the Mr. Hoopers who own the corner store. And Sesame Street isn’t about doing harm to others. War on terror? Not on Cookie Monster’s watch. War on cookies, maybe. But that’s as violent as it gets. Even the Count wouldn’t match up to these bloodsuckers. I’d elect Bert and Ernie any day of the week compared to McCain and Palin.

    Peace

    Comment by brotherpeacemaker | Monday, September 1, 2008 | Reply

  5. I think that the big bird concept would be a great one since he is so loving towards everyone. But that would only last until his big corporate backers start pulling his card. Then we would see what big bird was really made of. Very scary indeed!

    Come on BrotherP, we know that the people would never let Burt and Ernie in the white house. I mean aren’t they a same sex couple? There are a lot of people out there that would go insane just thinking of that concept.

    Thanks.

    Comment by theblacksentinel | Monday, September 1, 2008 | Reply

  6. Thanks for the feedback theblacksentinel,

    There is always that ever present American corporation isn’t there?

    Peace

    Comment by brotherpeacemaker | Monday, September 1, 2008 | Reply

  7. “We both hate the fact that there are so many high profile black men going after white women after they have dumped the black women who have helped them. However, she didn’t see a problem with high profile black women going after white men. There are so few good black men for those high profile black women anyway. We disagreed about that issue. Why should high profile black women be given a pass to date outside the race when black men shouldn’t is pretty hypocritical.”

    I usually get blazed for mentioning this. Many people seem to understand what I am talking about if I ever am brave enough to discuss it. I have members of my family both male and female who are like this. I refuse to associate with them.

    “We both feel that the black community needs help. She feels that black men should step up to the plate. She’s a single mother who hasn’t seen her child’s father in years. Most of her friends are single black mothers as well with children and absentee fathers. I asked her what did she see in her sperm donor. Her eyes roll back into her head as she briefly reminisces and replies with a smile on her face that the man was fine. I’ll ask was he responsible. She turned kind of sheepish and said no. So I asked her that because she made an irresponsible choice, black men are now her problem. ”

    An obviously shallow individual at best. You see, I have no issues like this in my family because there are certain things you look for in a partner. This is not exclusive to black women by any [stretch] of the imagination. My friend who is white has a sister who got pregnant by a man who walked out on her when he found out. She is now [with] another man and she plays it off like he is the father when he is not. I cannot stand females like that. When you lay down with dogs, you wake up with fleas. It [is] not a reflection of black men but the men that you pick. As well as the fact that she is not representative of black women.

    I actually find that there are many shallow people in this world which is why there is so very little change and improvement. Amongst blacks, they are in such dire need to be accepted by whites that they will throw other blacks to the wayside just to be accepted.

    Governor Palin does not impress me by any stretch of the imagination. I found this to be an embarassing pick!!

    McCain also did not properly vet her nor think it through. She has too much personal scandal…her investigation, her pregnant teenage daughter etc…it is so distracting from the issues.

    Comment by RhondaCoca | Monday, September 1, 2008 | Reply

  8. Thanks for the feedback RhondaCoca,

    You hit the nail on the head! Shallow! I probably should not have been surprised if previous conversations were any indication. Unfortunately, I put more faith into her than I should have. And you’re right, the world is teeming with shallow people who are quick to turn and rollover to get their personal desires met instead of their community desires met. As Earth, Wind and Fire would say, that’s the way of the world.

    Peace

    Comment by brotherpeacemaker | Monday, September 1, 2008 | Reply

  9. RhondaCoca is the bomb!!

    I love a woman who can separate the real from the fake!!!

    “When you lay down with dogs, you wake up with fleas. It [is] not a reflection of black men but the men that you pick. As well as the fact that she is not representative of black women.”

    Thank You!

    BrotherPeacemaker,

    I wasn’t try’n to leave the woken sisters out of the mix. In my humble opinion there is no better woman than a woke sister, i.e, Black Sentinel and RhondaCoca!!!
    They are the ish!!

    Comment by Damien | Tuesday, September 2, 2008 | Reply

  10. Thanks for the feedback Damien,

    RhondaCoca and theblacksentinel? I guess they alright! 🙂

    Peace

    Comment by brotherpeacemaker | Tuesday, September 2, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

