brotherpeacemaker

It's about our community and our spirituality!

Obama’s Mama Drama

Barack Obama and Mother

The other day I read where there were a couple of black people who were debating whether or not Barack Obama was good for the black community. I’ve asked myself and other people the same question time and time again. For all of his public appeal Mr. Obama didn’t seem to be connected with the black community. I felt that his talk of healing and uniting people on both sides of the racial divide during the build up to the Jena, Louisiana protest last September was pretty weak. I was disappointed in his response to Rush “The Lush” Limbaugh referring to him as the Magic Negro. I was embarrassed to see him dancing for votes on the Ellen DeGeneres Show. I wasn’t impressed with his plans for battling the healthcare crisis. Personally speaking I’m just not feeling the love.

In all fairness though I have to admit that his willingness to talk to the heads of state of countries that people in this country have been taught to fear did give me some hope of change and a new direction for leadership.

But the other day I read somewhere that someone black said the Barack Obama wasn’t fully black because his mother was a white woman. Therefore, the black community couldn’t depend on him. This man was saying he’d vote for Hillary Clinton. My brow started to furrow, my face frowned up, my lip started to curl and I had to ask no one in particular, what? Mr. Obama isn’t fully black? Who the hell is? I mean when I look at myself in the mirror I can see somewhere along the Peacemaker family tree that somehow some European cream got into my African ancestors coffee. My skin isn’t very dark at all. If I stood next to Mr. Obama I’m pretty sure I’d lose the “Who’s The Darkest” contest. And both of my parents are black. And regardless how the hell does that translate to whether or not that makes him presidential material?

Because only one of Mr. Obama’s parents was black he is unfit to represent this particular voter. I wondered how this man would feel if he heard a white person say that Mr. Obama had only one white parent so that would make him untrustworthy. Hell! More than likely Clarence Thomas had two black parents and I know for a fact that if you are black and on trial that you don’t want this man to walk out of the judge’s chambers to preside over your trial. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I’d rather see my fate in the hands of Ruth Bader Ginsburgh than tom. Having two black parents is no guarantee of anything. And his mother was white means he’s not fully black? In the immortal words of Colin Powell, “In America…when you look like me, you’re black.”

And what’s the alternative? Having someone in the White House without either parent being black is somehow more attractive? This will be the type of person that would swear up and down that race would have nothing to do with their logical deduction or lack thereof. They just want to make sure that the black candidate knows what it’s like for black people. So would the white person with white parents make a better candidate because their race has absolutely nothing to do with anything?

Even with my doubts as to whether or not Barack Obama is the best candidate for the presidential job, as a black man I have to confess that I would be ecstatic to see a black man winning the confidence of America and getting an opportunity to setup shop in the oval office. But, as a black man, I have to admit that I am severely disappointed to see an obviously black man sitting on the Supreme Court and using his position to undermine the black community at each and every opportunity. Having a black man on the Supreme Court is supposed to be an uplifting phenomenon for the black community but instead, for many black people across this land, it is turning into one of our worst nightmares.

It is no longer safe to say that the black community would like a black man in the job. The black community needs to make sure that we have the right black man in the job, the right person in the job. Whether or not Barack Obama is the right black man is an individual choice. But I honestly have to say that whether or not both of any candidate’s parents are black is truly out of place as an indication of his or her qualifications or a measure of his or her connection to the black community.

Friday, January 25, 2008 - Posted by | African Americans, Barack Obama, Black Community, Black People, Life, Michelle Obama, Thoughts

10 Comments »

  1. This is very true. We can no longer judge a person by their family background. Just because we look alike does not ensure that we have the same value system point in case like Clarence Thomas. Also just because Hilary is pretty much all white doesn’t discount Barrack. This is lunacy. How does him having a white mother equate to anything. And if this person’s reason for saying this is that by having a white mother would somehow make him less able to understand the black perspective. Then you are right how is Hilary and her white skin going to understand. Hanging in the black church isn’t going to necessarily do it. And if this guy wanted to vote for Hilary that was his right and he didn’t need to come up with this stupid excuse in order to do it.

    I think that the problem is that people feel they need excuses to buck the trend. All blacks are voting Obama because of the race thing but he didn’t want to and thought he needed an excuse even though this made him look like an idiot. I will vote for whoever I feel addresses the issues that I am concerned with be that black man, white woman or white man. I am concerned with issues not skin color and everyone else should be the same.

    Thanks BrotherP

    Comment by theblacksentinel | Friday, January 25, 2008 | Reply

  2. BP.. I applaud your comments. The reference to Clarence Thomas was tight. I never thought of that aspect of the issue.

    Peace!

    Comment by asabagna | Friday, January 25, 2008 | Reply

  3. Theblacksentinel, Trend? Anyway…I think people are conveniently forgetting that the black vote up to December was in Hilary’s court. Obama has only now gotten more of the black vote. Many blacks have been fearful, hesitant ore hateful to Obama for the past year. I resent the fact that you are saying that blacks are voting for Obama over the whole race thing, I am not that is an aspect and a very small one that wouldn’t have made me vote for him if I wasnt in favor of him as a politican. In addition, if that commentor who made that comment about voting for Hilary cause Obama has a white parent is repeated so often all over. Obama isnt black enough thats why I’m voting for Hilary nonsense!! It has nothing to do with breaking a trend?? If you want to vote for Hillary wonderful but if you were really for her then you would have a reason. That person had no reason, they just dislike Obama.

    This guy said that he was voting for Obama, when I asked why? He said cause I feel that Hillary is divisive and corrupt umm…then thats a vote against Hillary and not for Obama. Why not say you like his stance on the war instead of bringing up the fact that you hate another candidate??? Its the same thing.

    Comment by Rhonda | Saturday, February 2, 2008 | Reply

  4. Brother peacemaker, I wanted to correct your assertion on Rush and the Magic Negro thing, it was a black journalist from the Los Angeles Times that wrote an article about it last year. Rush Limbaugh read it and decided to sing a song about it because he found it funny that it was a liberal who made such a statement when people conventionally tagged conservatives with racist statements. He even said that by the evening, everyone would say that he was the one calling Obama a Magic Negro when it was originally a black liberal LA Times journalist. But Rush is an idiot for repeating it.

    Barack doesnt engage in certain racial conversation i noticed. He tried hard to avoid it. He knows that it is a tough topic and in the primaries it will marginalize him. His wife she pulls not shots though, she’s tough and honest woman. I adore Michelle Obama. He excused Joe Biden on that comment he made which I thought was a weak. I was upset about his answer at the South Carolina debate when they asked about Clinton being the first black president and he brought up the dancing thing. He tried to make it light and not get heavy into the race thing. I was annoyed and didnt laugh I felt that he was trying to appease to whites by keeping it superficial. Bill Clinton never deserved that title in my opinion.

    I support him and I like the fact that he has engaged in and wants to continue to engage in bipartisan politics. I also think that he would be good for the black community.

    I apologize for my long comments on YOUR blog.

    Comment by Rhonda | Saturday, February 2, 2008 | Reply

  5. Thanks for the feedback Rhonda!

    And don’t apologize to me for making long comments. It’s a good indication that you actually read what I had to say and gave it some thought. And it’s even better when we can establish a dialog and exchange ideas. Not everyone sees things the way everybody else does. If we did we wouldn’t have to write anything.

    Peace

    Comment by brotherpeacemaker | Sunday, February 3, 2008 | Reply

  6. Rhonda,

    I have to wonder why would Obama be good for the black community? He doesn’t want to engage anyone with the problems that face him AND the black community. He is weak on all issues that face the black community and he wants to stay neutral in order to get into office.

    Now if he is going to push aside issues that matter to himself as well as the black community then what makes any of us think that this man will not do the same thing when in office. We have to get past the color of his skin and listen to the words coming or not coming out of his mouth.

    Thanks

    Comment by theblacksentinel | Sunday, February 3, 2008 | Reply

  7. The Black Sentinel,

    I am going by the words that come out of his mouth. What I have realized is that the media doesnt report on when he speaks out about black issues. I have noticed this over a period of time which has lead me to doing my own research. I am not basising anything on skin color, if I was then I would say sell outs like Tiger Woods, Clarence Thomas and Stanley O’Neal (former CEO of Merrill Lynch) amongst many others are good for the black community and I resent them. I have heard Obama make a lot of stands on black issues. I feel that many despise the fact that he is not running on a platform that isn’t solely based on black issues. The point is 14% of this country is black which means that there is a whole 86% of the population that he also has to address which leaves him having to deal with issues that effect our country on a whole which makes it seem like he doesnt care about black issues. Yet he has made many stands on black issues.

    P.S. I dont blame you or anyone of being anything less than critical and skeptical. We have had a lot of sell outs in our race but I have read up on Obama and am willing to give the brother a chance…we will see.

    Here’s a great link on some things that he has done for black people. Its by a blogger compiled a pretty comprehensive list on the issues. And like what I said above blame the media.

    http://thinkonthesethings.wordpress.com/2007/11/27/jesse-jackson-needs-to-blame-media-not-barack-obama-for-neglecting-issues-facing-blacks/

    Comment by Rhonda | Friday, February 8, 2008 | Reply

  8. Rhonda,

    Thank you for the link. I went through and saw a lot of things I had not known about Obama. And for that I have to give you a big thanks. I do still feel that he is a little ambiguous on some of the things that he says but don’t take that lightly I feel the same about the other candidates. And that this is probably just the way these politicians are running their campaigns and it bothers me.

    I do understand that the black community only comprises about 14 or so percent of the United States and that he HAS to address everyone. Yet I do feel that in speeches where he is going to get serious coverage he only addresses the majority and that was what I was speaking to. I feel that everyone should get addressed.

    The fears and issues of the majority and minority intersect yet they both have distinct differences which need light. Other than that I am going to look over more of what was in the link and do more research. I am not like Bush and feel that one can not change course.

    Thanks

    Comment by theblacksentinel | Friday, February 8, 2008 | Reply

  9. Your welcome, I think that the biggest issue facing Obama is that most people even those who support him dont know where he stands on much of the issues. They dont seem to know much about him either. That isnt good therefore when he makes broad speeches that speak to American principles rather than outlining certain accomplishments and where he stands on many of the issues, it causes great speculation. Many draw conclusions that he doesnt care about certain issues, others claim that he lacks substance, many say he’s inexperienced, other claim that he isn’t as knowledgeable about the issues and so forth. Whichever conclusion people come to, it isnt good for his campaign and he needs to address it. I have recently got involved in his campaign and I try my best outline certain things for people.

    He does address everyone, I am very confused on what you mean by that?

    Comment by Rhonda | Friday, February 8, 2008 | Reply

  10. I think Barack Obama’s press release about the Jena Six is a prime example of how Mr. Obama keeps the black community at somewhat of a distance. He made his press release on September 10th while Hillary Clinton and John Edwards made their press release on September 19th. And while it is true that out of the presidential candidates Mr. Obama was first, the Jena Six affair started in September of 2006! It took Mr. Obama a year to say something about this issue. I heard about Jena, Louisiana in May. I didn’t write a post about it until June and I thought I was late on the subject. I would expect an African American United States Senator, running for the white house, that professes to have a connection to the plight of the black community would have a few resources at his disposal to keep track of issues associated with the black community. Otherwise, he or she would look like any other candidate running for the presidency.

    Peace

    Comment by brotherpeacemaker | Sunday, February 10, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

