brotherpeacemaker

It's about our community and our spirituality!

Using God To Hate

god-hates-fags

Not too long ago I made a comment about Miss California Carrie Prejean’s comment about opposite marriage being the only acceptable form of marriage in her country and in her family.  What I wrote must have been an invitation for people to hate because I got a lot of comments from people who questioned my intelligence, my patriotism, as well as my sense of spirituality.  Because Ms. Prejean was being honest about the way she felt and how she stood up for the sanctity of opposite marriage she was going to get a heavenly crown from god.  Who the hell was I to give my honest opinion about someone giving their honest opinion about people who were honest about their sexual orientation enough to have their same sex relationship sanctified by the state?

Ms. Prejean and her peers believe that god loves people who hate the idea of homosexual marriage.  It sounds like a lot of people believe that they will be in god’s good graces if they hate in the name of god.  God doesn’t like gays and lesbians and therefore, to get a holy crown, I’ll hate gays and lesbians.  And how do we know that god hates same sex marriage?  It says so in the bible.  It says so in the book of Romans 1:24-27 and the First book of Timothy 1:10 and the First book of Corinthians 6:9-10.

It’s funny because these same Christian bible books also mention the hatred god has for adulterers but nobody ever says that people who commit adultery should not be allowed to marry in the name of god.  These books also talk about sexual perversions and unnatural sexual acts.  While that might include some same sex acts, I know a few heterosexual acts of sex that might cross the line of perversion.  I’m not going to go into any detail here but I spent nearly my entire adult life learning a few sexual perversions in order to help satisfy the woman in my life.  I know for a fact some of the things I do wouldn’t pass a lot of people’s idea of conventional sex acts.

But that’s okay.  If god is going to judge my spirituality based on how prudish my peers think my bedroom life is I seriously doubt that god understands my spiritual nature at all.  My god doesn’t judge me based on what you might think.  In all honesty, my spirituality has absolutely nothing to do with my sexuality.  As long as I respect myself and respect my partner and respect my family and respect my community, as long as I do what I can to be the best person that I can be, how does my private sex life interfere with that overall sense of respect?  Why would god put such emphasis on what I do for good, healthy sexual relationship?

Honestly, I don’t think god cares.  And since I’m talking honestly nobody can condemn me for what I say and I should be getting my heavenly crown any day now.

God is not a voyeur looking into my bedroom for sexual deviation.  The idea that the creator of the universe wants to condemn me to hell because of my extracurricular sexual activity is an idea that doesn’t sit very well with my psyche.  If the only people who go to heaven are the people who stick to orthodox sex without perversion, it doesn’t look good for me.  I will definitely be disqualified at the pearly gates.  But then again, if the heavenly bound are people who are so rigid that they cannot accept those who are different, then I would have to say, even if I was so inclined to stick with nothing but missionary sex with my partner, heaven would not sound very heavenly to me.

I have family members and friends who are part of the gay and lesbian community.  The idea that they are not welcome because god doesn’t like the fact that they are honest enough to follow their true sexual nature, their true sexual spirit, is not one that sits well with me.  If this is the nature of the Christian god, then hell sounds a lot more appealing than heaven.

But I know for a fact that god doesn’t judge people on such trivialities.  My god doesn’t award heavenly crowns to bigots.  My god doesn’t smile down and love small minded people because they hate in his name.  The god that I have come to know and develop a relationship with is the type of god that would not think to judge others no matter what.  God doesn’t need people to hate in his image.  My god is big enough, strong enough, and capable enough to hate all by himself.  People who revel in hate should learn to stand up on their own and hate on their own.  Quit putting petty bigotry on god’s shoulders.

Sunday, April 26, 2009 - Posted by | Faith, God, Homosexuality, Life, Orisa, Religion, Spirituality, Thoughts

7 Comments »

  1. Amen! Anyhow, these people will stand behind their bigotry all the while ignoring so many other things said in the bible. It is just an excuse to hate like you said.

    What the hell ever happened to the bible saying “judge not lest ye be judged?” Of course they will say they aren’t judging, that somehow they are just doing gods will.

    Well where are they to do gods will when they are not doing unto others as you would have them do unto you? The hypocrisy is blinding. Not to mention we can comb through these same peoples lives and take the bible and show them the thousands of reasons why they are going to hell themselves.

    Thanks so much for this. It is so unfair, bigoted and disgusted.

    Comment by theblacksentinel | Sunday, April 26, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hooray some sense!!!!

    Comment by lifeisannoying | Monday, April 27, 2009 | Reply

  3. You just don’t get it.

    God is a God of Love. Not a God of Hate. Those who use the message of love (see John 3:16) to spread hate are wrong.

    However, it is not fair to say that is what Carrie Prejean is doing! She stated the way she was raised and what she believed. Also, it is what the Bible states.

    Extremists like the Woorsboro Church are simply that… Nutty extremists. Not to be considered main stream.

    What Carrie said is mainstream. It is Biblical and not said through hatred! We are all sinners, we have all sinned and are undeserving. However, when we turn away from that Sin and accept Christ’s sacrifice we have hope.

    Homesexuality = Sin (a lot of things = sin)
    We have to turn away from that sin (i.e. not make it a life style) and accept Christ’s gift of dying for our sins.

    No one will go to Hell if they accept Christs Sacrifice and make him Lord of their life. However, part of that is turning away to a lifestyle of Sin (i.e. Drugs, Alcoholism, Homosexuality, or any other biblically outlined immoralities).

    I submit, it is you spreading hate right now. Spreading hatred of Carrie Prejean by making her out to be these terrible people of Worsboro Church (the God Hates American nuts).

    Comment by Travis | Tuesday, May 12, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks for the feedback Travis,

      But I believe it’s you and people like you who just don’t get it.

      What about bible verses like judge not lest ye be judged and let him who is without sin cast the first stone? If you’re going to follow the bible follow it completely instead of picking and choosing what versus are applicable. Ms. Prejean is not mainstream. And even if she was, this is not a majority rules society. Most people used to think slavery and segregation was acceptable. Just because it’s mainstream doesn’t mean it’s correct.

      If we are going to come down on sinners then let’s come down on all sinners. People who have sinned should not get married and I’ll be down with that. I submit that it is you who are judging and spreading hate. Spreading hatred of those who disagree with Ms. Prejean by making us out to be these terrible people. If heaven is filled with people like you I will take hell any day of the week. If god hates anybody that’s between god and that person. You don’t speak for god. You are much too small to fill his shoes.

      Peace

      Comment by brotherpeacemaker | Tuesday, May 12, 2009 | Reply

  4. Hey, The sign in the picture offends me – IT IS NOT TRUE! God is good, God is love, there is no evil in Him at all. All of us on the other hand have done evil: hurtful, selfish, arrogant, destructive things, to either ourselves or others. Any evil means we deserve punishment. Bible says the wages of sin (evil) is death. Absolute death = hell. While absolute life = heaven. Jesus’ death was for us – he took that punishment, he was in absolute death. Jesus came alive again – he destroyed death, he was more powerful than that. He offers us absolute life through that gift. Say YES to Jesus = absolute life.

    All this shows that God loves all us criminals equally – no one is hated by God, none is loved more, no one has done anything that gets them into heaven. God did that. (God = Jesus.)

    Comment by Jon Cash | Friday, January 22, 2010 | Reply

  5. I’m reading the comments here and I am now realizing that people are actually trying to rationalize the “rights” and “wrongs” of some man’s interpretation of God’s will. If you recognize the bible or any other religious document for what it truly is, then there is no need for debate.

    Comment by Jamie | Monday, March 1, 2010 | Reply

  6. Am tardy to the party, but so well stated, brotherpeacemaker.

    My only point of difference is that I think our sexuality, so intertwined with who we are as human beings, is another part of the gift from God that is our consciousness. Our self-awareness grows through spirituality, and part of that, at least for me, is embracing the fact that we’re not all wired the same. Some of us love the same gender, some the opposite, some both, and it’s the love that is the beautiful part, the connection with spirit.

    alafia.

    Comment by ish | Friday, April 16, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 154 other followers

